We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Del Mar to your Saves list
Casa Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   18 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Sidney, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“pretty and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

The Casa del Mar looks like an old motel that has had a pleasing update. The rooms are very modern with high quality linens. As with so many hotels, there needs to be more hooks and counter space, but there was a wire wall unit in the closet and a small kitchen that would be ideal for an extended stay. There is wine and cheese in the lobby during the evening. It is one block from the pier and near to a few restaurants. There are numerous other motels in the area so it is safe to walk around at night. We paid $88 and were happy to do so.

  • Liked — wine and cheese, near the beach
  • Disliked — gaps around the window blinds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    77
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
76
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Found this Bed and Breakfast/Hotel online. It's more of a hotel than anything. The location was great. Can't complain. It was loud during the afternoon when we were trying to nap. During the night there wasn't any problem.

The room itself was very very small and covered up to look modern although you can tell it was in an old building and it needed renovations. It's definitely way too overpriced.

Breakfast is just regular continental breakfast you would get at a comfort inn. Nothing special. I didn't go to wine and cheese but I'm getting that's the same situation as well.

Overall, it was okay. If i would stay there again? Maybe not.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, Ca
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Casa Del Mar for our Anniversay and we had an enjoyable experience.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The food was great and you can't beat the location. They are just a stones through from the beach,wharf and State street.

I give this place "2 thumbs up"!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crtwrnr
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

Santa Barbara can be quite pricey when it comes to hotels, so imagine our glee to find this affordable little gem. Just a block from the beach, this little hotel is a total deal. The room was done in a minmalist asain style. Very clean and classic.
One tip for folks who may like to sleep late, get a room away from their "pool" ( A little jacuzi they have). People didn't seem to mind having their kids out there early in the morning.
Other than that, we totally enjoyed this spot!

  • Liked — the beautifully decorated rooms
  • Disliked — the early morning kid noise at the pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We lived in Santa Barbara for 10 years and recently moved to Los Angeles. We returned to SB for our wedding weekend and decided to try the Casa del Mar based on their web page and a quick stop in the lobby (they are VERY friendly). The location is perfect-- one block off the beach on the west side-- which means it is not as expensive as a an ocean view room on Cabrillo Street, but really convenient and in a very quiet neighborhood. We stayed in a one-room suite, which included one large room (king sized bed on one end with a sitting area/fireplace on the other), a small kitchen, and a bathroom. The suite faced the "spa area" (a hot tub and little deck area), with an entire wall of windows. We had tons of space in the room, were able to host family during the day, and it was very relaxing in the evenings. In terms of services, there is a good continental breakfast (with Santa Barbara Roasting Company coffee!) and wine and cheese in the afternoon. The staff is very friendly (they printed my dad's boarding pass and he wasn't even staying there and stored our extra wedding cake for us for an afternoon), the facilities are lovely, and the location is excellent. We would definitely stay there again and recommended it to everyone we know in SB for out of town guests.

  • Liked — great atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed for three nights in Casa Del Mar as a family of four. The location is good, near the beach and harbour. We had two queen rooms, both were clean with comfortable beds and nice duvets. We had room 28, which is on the corner of Bath St and Mason St and feels very exposed with the door straight on to Mason St, almost as if it isn't part of the hotel. There was some traffic noise, but it's a fairly quiet area. The other room, 27, was better and more private. The staff were all very good and happy to give information on the local area. Breakfast was average, nothing to get exited about. Would I stay again - probably, but not in room 28.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Room 28
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la area
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Just came back from 1night stay. Hotel looks so much better on website. Happy hour is cheap wine and stale crackers. Breakfast is better at Motel. Very pricey and mgmt not understanding. Toilet ran all night and mgmt said we should have gotten up during middle of night and looked for someone to fix. Don't stay there. Waste of money.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Address: 18 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.