We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and cute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Del Mar to your Saves list
Casa Del Mar
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   18 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and cute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had two rooms and can only report a positive experience. The staff and accommodation were divine! Santa Barbara offers an easiness married in the hotel ambience. The rooms were fresh and airy, easily accessible from the roadside. The breakfast was also welcoming and more than adequate to set you up for the day. Would recommend. However, please be very mindful of parking on the roads next to the hotel - the Parking attendants can be over zealous! Ensure that you obey ALL of the rules otherwise you will be fined.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    78
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
77
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked two rooms here but had to cancel a month before our stay. We called to cancel both rooms and talked to the manager yet they still charged us a no-show fee. When we called to get our money back they said that we had only cancelled one of the two rooms and refused to refund the fee. The manager was very rude and unprofessional. Given that everything was done over the phone and their on-line system is pretty bad, it's our word against theirs (we are still dealing with the credit card company to get our money back).

I would not book here, once you give them your credit card number who know's what they will do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been coming to the Casa Del Mar since the late 90s. The location and being dog friendly first got our attention. We always stayed in the Courtyard King. The breakfast is great, not a fancy waffle machine but plenty to choose from. Plus afternoon wine and cheese from about 5 to 7PM. We recently came again for a wedding in Santa Barbara. The hot tub was gone and replaced by a courtyard with chairs and in cooler weather a fire pit. It was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine. We waited till the last moment and managed to get a queen room. It was a bit of a disappointment after staying in the Courtyard King. Much smaller and not quite as nice but it is a less expensive room. In the future I will try for at least a Courtyard King. Still a wonderful place to stay. Quiet and it blends in with the neighborhood. If you do have a dog there is a great park with baseball fields just a block away, plus we used to walk to
the wharf with our dog and even to State Street. Parking can be a problem but we usually end the day in the afternoon and being so close to State Street we can walk for dinner and not lose our parking space. Everything is so close. Still our choice when staying in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Would try and get more than just a queen room. It was very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here on a tour of California as part of our honeymoon, the hotel itself was a short walk from the harbour and beach and also from the main drag of shops and restaurants. We were on the top floor and with no lifts we struggled with our large cases, it was a good job we are both fit and able. Cookies and Milk and Cheese and Wine in the evening was a lovely touch. Staff were really helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Also loved that you could borrow bikes from reception to help get around the local area. I would recommend this hotel for a short break but probably wouldn't spend a long period of time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

several good things about this place. good location, friendly staff, good atmosphere, nice bed, powerful flushmate toilet!!
not so good things are: very limited parking, no air con (!!!), only light bagel breakfast available. we paid 270 for one night so it is on the high side for me but low when you call more to a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and location are great. It is a motel, so don't expect 5 star rooms even though the prices are a little higher. It's Santa Barbara and location you're paying for.

We took our dog and it is dog friendly and this worked out great.

Parking is a real problem as they provide only a handful of spaces. But they do provide on street permits to avoid fines.

A short walk from the Marina, pier and beach. Also many restaurants and bars within walking distance. In fact you can park your car and forget it for your stay.

Our stay had a party going on in one of the rooms. And you can hear everything through the rooms. No one is on premise all hours to monitor activity. Sound is a problem and we could hear mobile phones and voices whenever they were present right through the walls.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The place is nice and walking around feels like a little spanish village. They welcome pets for a very reasonable fee. Breakfast is not what you would aspect from a BB at this price. Just bagels, cereals fruits and juices. It should have some cooked dishes. We staid at the "one bedroom room", but it was just one fairly small space without separation between the sleeping area and the living area were the couch was. So if you are traveling with kids you may wish the was a real bedroom. Photos on their website are really nice but in reality if feels less luxurious. Location is great only a short walk to the beach. I guess we paid a premium because the summer weekend and location. Bottom line: a pleasant stay overall, lots of dining option around, good location but overpriced by 30%.

Room Tip: If you choose a room near the courtyard were the fireplace is you could have a nice glass of vine un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar

Address: 18 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Barbara
Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.