We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Little Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bath Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bath Street Inn to your Saves list
Bath Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1720 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Charming Little Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We spent the weekend in the Balcony Room. It's a tight room, but we definitely enjoyed being close all weekend. The quilt on the bed was so incredibly soft! The other rooms on our floor were empty during our stay. For that reason, it felt very private for a B&B. The FOOD! Breakfast was ahhmazing… The house made granola was unreal. Hot entrees were Cottage Cheese Pancakes and Eggs Florentine. Neither of these dishes would I typically order on my own… In Marie's and Debbie's hands I trusted. Everything was delicious. This place is all about the "little things." Board games for you to take up to your room… A fire in the fireplace each night… A wall of movies to choose from… Tea time with cakes and cookies baked that day… Gosh, whoever does the baking, knows exactly what she's doing. P.S., there's wine and cheese in the afternoon :) Only downside to this place was the fact that it's just a bit too far to walk to downtown. We walked anyways, but wished we had drove. I would definitely book this place again for another weekend getaway. Thanks Marie and Debbie!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    105
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
49
300
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Brought my girl to Santa Barbara for her 30th birthday and chose this B&B as our home base. It was her first time at a B&B and she was very pleased with it. I have to admit, as other reviewers have mentioned it is a bit like going to stay at your grandmas house, but in a good way. We stayed in the garden room which had an awesome little jacuzzi that fit 2 comfortably. The first evening we arrived we made it to the cheese and wine hour and we were the only ones there. The innkeeper put music on and lit a fire for us and we just sat in the living room and sipped our wine and snacked in a very romantic setting. The innkeepers make this place what it is and the rooms are adequate. The location is about a 6 block walk to get to the beginning of the State Street restaurants and shops. We will return again some day.

Room Tip: Garden room was cool due to the private entrance and the jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Three of us rented 2 rooms Feb 6-7 2014. What a delightful place with such warm and helpful innkeepers! The rooms all have a unique decor and the beds are super comfortable. We were greeted by wonderful baked goods when we arrived and shortly afterwards we were treated to wine and cheese and crackers. The hearty breakfast was wonderful and included fresh papaya! The location is fabulous. You will be pleasantly surprised and satisfied if you choose The Bath Street Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Staying at the Bath St. Inn reaffirms why people like B&B's compared to hotels/motels - you really do feel at home. We stayed in the tiny Wedgewood room and I think its a good deal for the prive (135) per night. Vicki was very helpful and the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Wedgewod is small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I made a quick getaway for a night in Santa Barbara. Our stay at Bath Street Inn was delightful! We stayed in Balcony Room, which is now my favorite room ever. When I made the reservation, Deborah told me about the "unusual angles" of this room and made sure I knew that it was best for, well, guests who aren't tall. She said, "It's like a dollhouse apartment." Well, my husband and I are sort of doll-sized, so it was perfect, and the angles made it all the more charming. The bed was very comfortable and is under the eaves of one of the roof slopes, which I loved. It had a tiny sitting room and a pint-sized bathroom. Plus it has a sweet little balcony.

Afternoon tea was delicious, with a great selection of cheeses, drinks and baked goods. My favorite was the gluten-free almond cake; when Deborah found out how much I'd enjoyed it, she emailed me the recipe! Breakfast was also yummy, and we were served by a woman who has worked for the Inn for 28 years. The Inn is on a residential street and it was quiet and homey, but we were easily able to walk the three blocks to the main shopping and dining area.

As a bonus, we met some really interesting people and enjoyed the social aspect of staying there as well. We simply loved our stay and are already looking forward to returning someday. Thank you, Deborah and your staff for making our mini-getaway a delight!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Bath Street Inn for our anniversary. During any future visits to Santa Barbara we would definitely stay there again and have been telling all our friends and relatives how perfect it is. Marie and Debra were so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and so clean. The breakfasts were fabulous - Marie even gave us their recipe for one of the dishes.

Room Tip: On the third floor there is a balcony room that looks very comfortable. Our room was the Tiffany Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We loved our stay at the Bath Street Inn. Our room was lovely and Marie and Debra were so nice. They made us feel welcome and went out of their way to accommodate my wife's dietary requests. The added plus for us is that it's an historic home, which we think is perfect for a Bed & Breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Address: 1720 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.