We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bath Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bath Street Inn to your Saves list
Bath Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1720 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place was an unexpected joy to visit. Marti is a refreshing change to the nauseous hotel managers I have had to encounter in California. She is smart, hilariously funny and a total strait shooter. Home made breakfast (vegetarian which didn't even bother this avid meat eater), homemade cakes for afternoon tea, and complimentary wine and cheese afternoons compliment the gorgeous rooms that she has available. Santa Barbara was absolute delight in itself but our long weekend wine tasting was made perfect by having such a fantastic place to stay. Reasonably priced, and totally and utterly charming.

Room Tip: The rooms in the guesthouse rather than the main house are nice and private. But all rooms are lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    105
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
49
301
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Breakfast was very good as was afternoon tea & cakes. Room was a good size & clean. Staff were friendly.
Location was a bit further from downtown Santa Barbara than we had expected. Although only 3 blocks from State Street, it was about 15 blocks from there to Stearns Wharf area. We enjoy walking but may be a problem for some people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I took a trip to Santa Barbara for a weekend getaway, and my husband made reservations with the Bath Street Inn. What a wonderful experience and escape. The home is quaint and well kept, and the room was inviting and cozy. The guests are made to feel welcome with wine tasting and snacks offered daily in the late afternoons, and the breakfasts are homemade and delicious! The Inn is within walking distance of all of the great shops, restaurants, and the beach and pier. We had a lovely time, and felt very well taken care of. We look forward to staying again in the future, and highly recommend the Inn for a home away from home experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I took Amtrak down to Santa Barbara and we followed advice of several friends to stay at the Bath Street Inn. It was a great experience! Nice, comfortable room, wonderful food for breakfast and an awesome wine tasting every evening, my husband even played his guitar on the patio. They had Wifi, so I could stay up to date on my e-mail and solid recommendations for restaurants and attractions. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fiancé and I loved our stay here, the innkeepers and staff are so sincere and make delicious breakfasts and goodies! The home is historic, cozy, and the rooms are clean and unique. Walking distance to everything downtown. Thank you all again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Mrs Sandgroper felt like a break from staying in hotels and motels and wanted to try a US-style B&B. She's English, you see, and loves her B&B's - despite their constraints. The Bath Street Inn had excellent reviews both here and elsewhere, and we'd left our booking until quite late, so this was our experiment.

Overall our impression of the Bath Street Inn was memorable, but probably for the wrong reasons. I must say that $240/night for the tiny "Garden room" was not good value in relative terms, even taking into account the breakfast. The night before we paid $170/night in Cambria for a large bright room with a sea view, and the homemade breakfast was not worth the $70 difference.

We had the Garden Room, which had its entrance on the driveway. It was a small room and the shower and sink were within the room, with a separate toilet (fortunately). It was clean, but that should be a minimum expectation at the cost. Cramped would be a good way to describe the room and there were few places to put our stuff. It also felt dated. We didn't use the TV but I recall it was an old 12" CRT model.

We sat around for the afternoon tea shortly after we had checked in (at about 3pm I think) and the sitting room was pleasant, but not somewhere you want to linger. There was another couple there who whispered to each other on the other side of the room. We felt out of place, so headed off once we had a quick biscuit or two and a drink.

The breakfast was hand made, obviously with some care and attention, but it was not as fantastic as some of the other reviews we had read seemed to imply. There was also no choice (at least as far as we were told) and it wasn't to my liking - strawberry and yoghurt with french toast, I think, with toasted muesli.

Sorry to be negative, as it is clear the owners are proud of their B&B, but at the price and with the expectations formed by the other reviews we had read we were very disappointed. I had resisted responding to the numerous survey emails after our stay, and was tempted not to post this review, but I have to be honest and say that we would not stay again, Perhaps Americans have different expectations of their B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathStreetInn, Owner at Bath Street Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are sorry this couple was disappointed with their visit to the Bath Street Inn. We think it likely that with more notice, we could have matched them to a room that would have suited them better. As far as the sink and tub being in the bedroom area, that is information we clarify for everyone who speaks with us. Each of our rooms is unique, they do vary in size and most have the traditional bathroom arrangement.
We are glad they found what they thought of as good value in Cambria. And certainly value is a relative experience. The area of Cambria where they stayed is comprised of motels, so value comparison is a little like comparing apples and oranges. However, we did a little research on motels with ocean views in Santa Barbara for August and found rates ranging from $270 to $360 before tax. The rate with us was $215 before tax.
At breakfast, when we serve guests their starters, we share what the hot entree is and ask how that sounds. Our guests then have the opportunity to say they would prefer something else and we are always happy to offer alternatives.
We are puzzled by the statement that numerous survey emails were received by this gentleman. It is our policy to send a single thank you email which includes a request for a review if the guest is so inclined. Our computer records show that just the one email was sent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

So my wife and I traveled up the coast for our honeymoon and ended up at Bath st. Inn. I have to say that this place is fantastic. The inn keeper was beyond sweet and helpful and made sure to make us feel at home. The location is perfect and the accommodations were exactly what we needed for a calm and comfortable evening. If you need to just get away I highly suggest you to go here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bath Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Street Inn

Address: 1720 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bath Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Street Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bath Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.