We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hip spot in SB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hungry Cat

The Hungry Cat
1134 Chapala St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3112
805-884-4701
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hungry Cat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 463 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Anapamu
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hip spot in SB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'd read some mixed reviews on this place but it was one of the better meals I've had. The interior feels very hip and young and not touristy (this is a plus for Santa Barbara). The food is excellent albeit pricey (which is true of every place in SB). Definitely recommend and would come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The O.C.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

In town to see a show at the SB Bowl and were striking out finding a place to eat after the show. We happened upon the The Hungry Cat at about 10:55 p.m. We were greeted warmly and welcomed in. We ordered a cheese plate and the Pug Burger, on recommendation of our waiter. The food was amazing - and the burger one of the very best I have ever had. Period. I cannot urge you enough to try this place. Craft beers, my wife had the Joe's Lemonade - and the food. Simply great. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best restaurant in santa barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hungry cat is simply the best restaurant in santa barbara. The menu is small, but everything is creative, fresh, and well executed! The raw bar is outstanding, particularly the oysters, shrimp and urchin. We go there regularly and tried most things on the menu. They are all remarkable. Only weaknesses are the limited choice of desserts and the cocktails, which are overpriced and overly complicated sometimes. This is an expensive place, but certainly the most creative and remarkable restaurant in santa barbara. A fish lover paradise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Trying To Hard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are lots of good things about the Hungry Cat such as a kind of Morel porridge with asparagus and an egg which was beautiful ... But overall I think that they are trying too hard to be different and if the chef just relaxed a bit then it could be really great.

I went away feeling a little cheated that it could have been so much better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Hungry Cat won't leave you hungry!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Amazingly fresh Seafood and Raw Bar! One or two meat and chicken dishes on this small but wonderful menu. I had the Sea Urchin (straight out of the water that day) and it was delicious. I also hd the "Pug Burger" which apparently has won awards. It was as advertised: Tasty and it will drip down your arm. Go! Enjoy!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Cat also viewed

 

Been to The Hungry Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hungry Cat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.