We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great venue.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodney's Steak House

Rodney's Steak House
633 E Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
805-884-8554
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rodney's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #326 of 409 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were staying at the Doubletree and after several meals in downtown Santa Barbara, we wanted a pleasant evening with excellent food. We found it at Rodney's, right in our hotel. No hassle with parking, etc. It was a memorable experience with excellent food and excellent service. Don't miss the crab cake! It has to be the best we have ever tasted! We both ordered fish entrees and they were delicious. The portions are generous but we still managed to share the bread pudding dessert. YUM!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overlooked local dining option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

During the week, Rodneys can be crowded with convention-types on their expense accounts. Good for them, maybe not so much for us locals.
On most weekends, things calm down. There will still be some tourists with unruly children but it is much quieter overall.
That's when Rodneys menu and staff shine.
The burger at $20 is one of the most expensive in town, but easily one of the best. Think of it as a mini-steak made with sirloin with top shelf cheese, delicious house-made onion marmalade and terrific fresh garlic mayo and ketchup for the rather pedestrian fries.
The steaks are all prime and rival those at the best steakhouses in town.
The dining room hasn't changed much since they opened, but that is a good thing. Nice design, comfortable chairs and pleasing lighting.
Service was excellent on my most recent visit.
If you order a bottle from the nice wine list (and, of course you should!), ask them to decant it. They have beautiful decanters and use a special funnel that aerates the wine as it is poured, noticeably improving the taste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

very attentive service, with the chef visiting tables and telling interesting insides about the food. The creative dishes skillfully mixing, sometimes contrasting, flavors, fresh ingredients made for a memorable meal. With the quality food and service the prices are reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
“Expensive...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is a good meal, but you are at a hotel so it isn't going to be cheap! Just stick with breakfast and sit outside. Take a walk and go somewhere for dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tough steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found good service. They had a nice wine list. There were great salads and appetizers. What a dissapointment to get tough filet mignon!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodney's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Rodney's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodney's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.