We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Avenue - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spice Avenue
1027 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2710
805-965-6004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A "Must"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have been here before and recently we had my son's graduation dinner here. The food and service is great as always. You have to try the very yummy chicken 65 appetizer. We all have our own favorite dish to order, mine being salmon masala. My family agrees that this place is a "must" every time we visit Santa Barbara.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spice Avenue is a decent place. I would not say great but you can have a nice meal there for a fair price. They have an extensive buffet and for those that like that type of offering it is worth the money

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very bad food not worth the cost!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I went here with my husband, I thought you couldn't go wrong with Indian food but I was wrong. Food was tasteless, I had prawn jalfrezi which was so bland full of peppers. Over all it was over priced and really not worth it!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I like their lunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I like their lunch Buffet.

Slightly better and slightly more expensive than Flavor of India...Better atmosphere

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Follow the aroma !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We sat in the outside courtyard which is covered. Delicious smells. Had attentive and knowlegable service as opposed to some other comments. Seafood vindallu was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Avenue also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.