We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood Spot on an Historic Wharf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Shellfish Company

Santa Barbara Shellfish Company
230 Stearns Wharf, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1880
805-966-6676
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 409 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bedford
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Seafood Spot on an Historic Wharf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a VERY small dining spot with limited outside seating. The view of the Pacific makes outside dining worth it if one does not mind a spot in full sun. We ate at a counter inside with the same view and a breeze and were very content! Musts on the menu include the fresh Dungeness crab louie, lobster pasta, and calamari pasta. Good selection of local beers and wines. Blackboard specials with good prices. Outstanding seafood preparation. Good spot for families, friends, couples.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    187
    46
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service, yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited with family and friends for a get together before our wedding the next day. They managed to sit all 17 of us together and fed a mix of seafood lovers and meat eaters and children easily. Great atmosphere and well cooked seafood. A must visit in Santa Barbara, it's the second time I've been and ill go again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The food was very good, service was ok - should be better for such a "famous" place - very casual, overlooking the water and the prices are good. I would go back, more for the location than the food - it's highly rated in all the local rags, but to me it was good, but not amazing as I expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“SUPER GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well, i know u need patient for the seat but it is really worth it. i like the local crab and the beers. in addition, things without fry were good as well.
btw,the daily soup was good and the hot source was really hot....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited here for lunch on Sunday. You get a table by putting your name down yourself on a list outside the restaurant. We arrived at 1145am and had a 15 minute wait before getting our names called. This place does not really have tables inside but seats at the bar or benches around the outside so it is a pretty informal dining experience which we both enjoyed.

Waiting staff were really friendly and knowledgable being more than happy to answer any questions we had. I ordered the local crab with a salad and soup (lobster bisque) which was fantastic. My wife ordered Shrimp cocktail but we shared all the plates. All the food was really fresh, of excellent quality and tasted great.

You should give this place a try if you are in the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Shellfish Company also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Santa Barbara Shellfish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Shellfish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.