We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the sunny side of the street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Lafond Wine Bistro

Pierre Lafond Wine Bistro
516 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1602
805-962-9303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pierre Lafond Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cota & Haley
Transit: The downtown shuttle costs 25 cents, travels up and down State, to the breakwater and over by the Santa Barbara Zoo. One of the stops is just steps away from the Wine Bistro.
Description: The Wine Bistro menu is seasonal California cuisine specializing in the freshest ingredients. The menu is split between appetizers, salads and entrees, including vegetarian dishes and fresh fish. The Steamed Mussels are the best in SB! Entree high-lights include Grilled Duck & Confit of Duck, Seared Salmon and Grilled New York Steak. Fantastic desserts include Salted Caramel Bittersweet Chocolate Tart, Sherry Wine Cake and more.Serving wines from Santa Barbara Winery,Lafond Winery as wines from around the world. Happy Hour M-F 4:30-6:30pm 9:30 to closingOpen Mon - Fri 11am - 10pm Sat/Sun 9:00am - 9:30pm Weekend brunchSidewalk patio.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“On the sunny side of the street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The lower end of State Steet is dominated by restaurants of every type.
The Pierre Lafond Wine Bistro looks like a bistro should look , with outside table seating along the bustling sidewalk. The menu offers a good selection of Californian cuisine with some local twists , and as the name suggests, a very good wine list.... try the 'wine flights' (tasting servings) of several styles of the same grape , from local CA wineries. I had turkey burger with cheese , spicy slaw , and an excellent salad , with an excellent local Syrah. Sitting in the dappled shade , watching SB streetlife is a great way to spend lunch or dinner , and I'll be back to try more of their menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Santa Barbara wineries plus delicious Cal cuisine = perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Everything we love about Santa Barbara in one perfect meal. This bistro offers the wines of the Santa Barbara and LaFond wineries and pairs them with fresh Cal cuisine, attentive service and built in entertainment with the State Street crowd meandering by. A perfect slice of Santa Barbara!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food i've had in the USA by a country mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Now correct me if I am wrong but the States is not known for its 'fine dining', A little tired of ribs wings, steaks and burgers, we found this place in lovely Santa Barbara.The menu looked lovely to european tastes, though quite expensive compared to the other fuller but cheaper and more typically american styled eateries nearby. The only thing that concerned us slightly was that it was practically empty wich is usually a bad sign
Service was attentive, the selection of items on the menu was very tempting and there was an excellent selection of wine to accompany the food
What can I say the food was gorgeous , bursting with flavour, even on dishes where it would be so easy to get wrong, I tried everything the table had and it was all delicious, from the caprese panini to the vegetable pearl barley risotto, the scallops on a very tasty risotto, and my personal choice a duck cassoulet, outstanding! portion sizes were generous by european standards an we could not finish anything
Would definately go back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Expereince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

While on vacation in Santa Barbara my wife and I walked by the Wine Bistro a number of times and decided to stop in for dinner. First the bread they brought to the table was tasted like it was fresh baked (I love focaccia). We started off with the mussels and were blown away. Their servicing size was huge as were thinking that we could not possible finish it and eat our meal, but once we dug in the wine and garlic sauce we were hooked. The mussels were better than what we experienced at Plouf in San Fransisco.

We followed up with the Salmon (which I had) and the vegetable risotto. The salmon tasted very fresh as cooked and seasoned to perfection. The leeks and black rice add a tasty texture to the dish. My wife really liked her risotto. We ended up having difficulty finishing our entrees because of the mussels (that sounds like a complaint but it is not).

The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Eating on the patio on such a beautiful day added to the overall great experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay, was hoping for more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Staff was great, table comfortable, but food was average at best. We had a salad, flatbread pizza and the mussels in wine sauce. Overall, a very simple meal. Other patrons were eating the mussels in a red, charizo sauce, maybe we made the wrong choice. Given the opportunity, we'll definitely give PLWB a second chance.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre Lafond Wine Bistro also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Pierre Lafond Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre Lafond Wine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.