We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canary, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pay in Advance for 15%off
Ranked #4 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
San Juan Capo, CA, US
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Absolutely delightful hotel in Spanish hacienda style in the centre of town, bang opposite Saks Fifth Ave. My husband and I drove up PCH1 for our wedding anniversary and I am so glad we chose this little gem. We had suite 312 with a balcony and separate living area. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was lovely with Spanish tiles. The staff were friendly and attentive. As a professional travel agent who has stayed at hundreds of hotels worldwide, this hotel gets top marks for being, well, just delightful. There is a $25 for valet parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
My goodness, you are the sweetest jungle cat I’ve ever met for sure! Thank you so much, bengal-tiger, for the gorgeous review! We are so glad you chose us as well for your super special occasion and truly appreciate the kindnesses. Come see us again soon. We promise not to change our stripes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    92
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
242
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! I stayed here during a recent business trip. Would definitely come back for business or pleasure! The rooftop deck is amazing. The fireplace sitting area is cozy and invites you to take in the view. The food is delicious; morning and night. Very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Lizy70, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and can’t wait to have you back for a fun trip! Though we loved having you here for business too. Thank you for the props and get back this way soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here this past week for what was supposed to be a one night stay, but due to the amazing service, beautiful accommodations and just overall incredible experience, we just had to extend for an additional night! We didn't want to leave!

Beau and Eddie at the front desk were so helpful and kind when we booked our room and checked in. They gave us such a beautiful room and made sure we knew the layout of the whole property and everything that went along with it (the gym next door was awesome and the drinks at the bar downstairs were delicious!). Lauren and Sarah at the front desk were wonderful as well- they all helped us pick out the best places to eat dinner (Cielto- amazing ceviche!) and breakfast (State & Fig- don't miss the green eggs and ham!), and helped us when we had any questions about the surrounding areas, how to get there and what not to miss.

It was so much fun to stay at a place with such a wonderful staff, so happy to be there and so happy to make the best possible experience for the guest!
Thank you to everyone!

Ann and Kris Cueva

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Ann and Kris, this review is beyond words amazing! Thank you! I am so glad you had so much fun during your stay and what a compliment to us that you decided to extend for another night. Wow! We are all so grateful that you took the time to write about all of your wonderful experiences and I am especially grateful you remembered the names of those who helped you and said such kind things. I have the privilege of working with a phenomenal group of people and am so glad you feel the same. Hope you come visit again super soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, and the staff is friendly. The bed was EXTREMELY comfy and the room was decently sized. I never heard sound from any adjoining rooms or from the hallway even though the place was busy enough.

My room was generally clean and in good shape, but for the price I was paying, I was surprised to find stuff like a burned out light bulb, a shower cap over the smoke detector (probably put there by a previous guest trying to sneak a smoke - but the room smelled fine), and a couple of other minor things that showed a bit of a lack of attention to the details.

I mentioned this stuff when checking out, and they were quick to make up for it by not charging me for parking or WiFi. They also had a mistaken $75 bar charge on my bill they took off with no complaint.

I didn't try the bar or the food or the pool/deck on the roof.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Sashazur,
Thanks for the kudos on location and our friendly staff! We do have an amazing team and property and perhaps the most comfortable beds just about anywhere. I do sincerely apologize for the attention to detail items you found and can’t thank you enough for mentioning them to the team at check out. All were corrected immediately and it sounds like the team was eager to apologize and make up for it as best they could. Thank you so much for your candor and faith and we look forward to having you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I just returned from a first visit to Santa Barbara--two nights at Canary. Overall, at $500/night, there was not a lot of value but it was certainly a very nice property. It felt more like a $300/night experience to me and my husband. Real estate is at a premium in Santa Barbara, so I suppose the room cost is justified. The location was great.

The rooms are very tastefully decorated, cozy and comfortable, but consistent with other reviews, a deluxe room (#218) is not for hanging out much. The iron leaked horribly, the TV remote didn't seem to work (thanks to the front desk who got new batteries!), and there was no safe, which is something we use a lot during hotel stays. I would have opted for any one of those things over a yoga mat.

The restaurant, the Finch & Fork, served a great breakfast (try the huevos) and we really enjoyed the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hi, vtskichick! So glad you enjoyed Finch & Fork’s bar and restaurant (I agree with you – the huevos are so delicious) and found our place cozy, but in reading your review, it’s clear we could have done a much better job on managing some of the basics during your stay. I am so sorry we dropped the ball – those you mentioned should be the easiest to manage and I’m pretty embarrassed we missed that opportunity. If you have time, I would love to talk though a few of the other concerns you may have experienced. Please call me at 805.879.9180 or e-mail me at caroline.dyal@canarysantabarbara.com so we can review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Canary Hotel is situated in downtown Santa Barbara, just a block off of State Street. The Hotel has valet parking @ $25.00 per night, a nice restaurant off the lobby, pool & bar on the roof top and areas for meetings/wedding parties. The Kiimpton chain goes the extra mile to make your room & experience pleasant, including a Yoga Matt & Umbrella placed in the closet. The four poster bed has very nice linen and a great mattress. Hotel staff is helpful and friendly, plus this is a Dog friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Well, Thomas S, you really do know how to keep the romance alive! We loved your 5 star review and can’t thank you enough for going that extra mile for us in return. It’s better than flowers! Thank you for taking the time to write and take a drive up to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach , CA USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I commute to Santa Barbara every day and sometimes have the occasion to stay in town for night... last night was one of those nights. ( I have stayed at Inn of the Spanish Garden, Bacara, Fess Parker's, the Upham, some of the hotels on Upper State... etc... usually at Bacara if I have a choice.)

I have attempted to make reservations at the Canary before and I've never made a reservation because the staff is usually hesitant to answer questions about the property.. they always want to send me to the general reservation number ( Kimpton) and TA reviews usually say the rooms vary greatly within the room catagories and I want more information that they (Kimpton) are able to provide. Anyway, for this time, i definately wanted to be downtown and be able to leave my car in my parking garage at work and walk to the hotel and to dinner.

The valet was friendly and efficient, check in was easy and we were in our room in about three minutes.

I booked a king premiere room... and it was nice... clean, well maintained... just like the pictures! These are NOT rooms to spread out in or to hang out in the room... not a lot of real estate... besides sitting on or lying on the bed.The bed and the pillows were super duper extra comfortable. I think they may have the best hotel pillows ever!! I didn't want to leave in the morning.

The rooftop area is all others have said... we watched the sun set and then sat for awhile in front of the fireplace... had the whole place to ourselves... it was wonderful!

This is an older hotel and the bathroom has just one sink... no way for two people to get ready at the same time.. and the shower/tub combo, while pretty and super clean is NOT a "soaking tub" like the reservation person has assured me that it was. (This is a difference between Inn of the Spanish Garden and Bacara... both have soaking tubs in their rooms ... so if that's important to you, take note.) The rainfall shower was perfect and had plenty of water pressure, which I had read in reviews was a problem for others. The hotel seemed quiet... maybe water is only a problem when they have many rooms booked.

I was happy with our stay. The only hiccup was that our room service breakfast was late. In fact it only came because I called. And when I called the person said that " my order had been put in the wrong place." He then read me my order and asked if I still wanted it. If it was right there in front of him with a requested delivery time, i am curious as to why they didn't deliver it to me as requested!! That is fairly sloppy service for $300 per night.

I belive the value at Bacara ( larger rooms, larger bathrooms, soaking tubs, double sinks, table to place the room service tray, patios) is better... however the downtown location of the Canary is sometimes preferred. it would be wonderful if the Canary offered midweek specials to make the price more attractive...especially for us locals!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear beachtravel,
Thank you so much for giving us a shot and for the 5 star review! I also really appreciate the candor in your review in that you noted both opportunities for us to work on as well as highlighted the positives: ridiculously comfortable pillows, a clean, well-appointed room and our spectacular rooftop views! As a result of what you wrote, we are developing some further training with room service as well as introducing reservation specialists on property to help answer questions that would help decide the best room type for stay. Thank you so much for that! We would love to have you back more often, so please let me know when you may return and hopefully we can work on that frequent stay rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canary, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canary, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Canary, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.