We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Say Enough About This Place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canary, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Brew-mance
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Say Enough About This Place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've stayed at hotels all over the world and this is truly one of the better ones for a multitude of reasons. The front desk guys are on point: sharp, helpful and funny. It was my 30th b-day and they upgraded me to a suite at no charge and without me asking. They also sent a bottle of wine and fruit plate after we got settled in. The hotel itself was beautiful. Very well done and welcoming...not at all over the top for a 4/5 star property. The rooftop needs to be seen to be believed. They have a free wine happy hour in the evening; grab a drink and head to the rooftop for sunset...you're welcome! HAHA. The beds are some of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. And the location, about 50 yards off Street is priceless for such a walkable city like SB.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Greg G, will you be our Valentine!? Awesome, awesome review – thank you so much! I’m so glad you had a great birthday and got to enjoy some lil gifts from us. Great recommendation on the sunset cocktail too! Thank you! Come back and see us soon, okay?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    140
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
127
372
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Researched Trip Advisor for a great but reasonable hotel in Santa Barbara. The Canary got great reviews and was priced right. Could the be real? The answer was YES! Great room, 4 poster bed, great big Hotel Bar and Riley and Maggie greet you at the front desk. Yes, Riley and Maggie, the boxer and his little friend were welcoming other dogs to this pet friendly hotel!
Lastly was the fantastic Roof top open air lounge,pool and hot tub area. Big cushioned chairs, couches and chaises offered a great spot for quiet reading and relaxing.
Will go back again.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Riley, Maggie & the whole crew say a rousing thank you for your great review, GNA2511! Paws up! We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed yourself and that we lived up to the good stuff you read in the other reviews. Thanks again so much!! And the photos are great – especially Riley in his dress up bow tie. Too fun! Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at the Canary Hotel a few nights while in Santa Barbara on business. I had stayed in other locations in Santa Barbara in the past but wanted a hotel directly downtown amongst all the shops and restaurants. Wow -- the Canary did not disappoint!! The room was beautifully appointed with a 4-poster bed, high quality bedding, beautiful tiling and a large, sumptuous bathroom. Everything about the place exuded old charm and elegance.

Beyond the room, the location couldn't be better: right in the heart of all the shops and restaurants, within walking distance of everything. The rooftop of the hotel is also a huge plus -- gorgeous, panoramic views of the city, a pool, hot tub and various seating arrangements both around the pool and in a separate area down some steps and to the other side. A lovely, quiet place to have drinks or simply take in the amazing views.

Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and the on-site bar/restaurant lovely. All in all, whenever I'm in Santa Barbara and want in-town convenience, this is definitely my place. Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Bisquin!! This is an amazing review - thank you so much! I love everything about what you wrote and couldn’t be happier that you have discovered us as you new place in SB. Please come back and visit us again soon! We’ll have a rooftop cocktail waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Full Disclosure, I'm a Kimpton in touch member. This locatin right "downtown " Santa Barbara puts you walking distance to business , shopping and restaurants. The reception was first class. I received an upgraded room, a min bar credit and assistance in securing spa treatments for my wife. The rooms are nicely appointed, with upscale amenities. The bar and restaurant are more then adequate for a business meeting. Overall the best hotel experience given its proximity to my business needs in the Santa Barbara area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Well played, LAPgolf! Thanks for the positive review and for naming us your best hotel experience in SB! We are so grateful for the kudos – and even happier to have you as an InTouch member. Come back and enjoy the perks again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were quite impressed with our several day stay in San Fran at a Kimpton hotel, the Palomar and expected a similar experience here. We booked here as my partner wished to watch the Super Bowl at an Irish bar downtown, enjoy some beer and not have to drive. Normally we have stayed near the harbor.

The decor is for the most part wonderfully done/stunning in some areas...a definite "wow" particularly in the common areas. BUT whoever thought that a hotel bathroom (particularly one within 3' of the bed) should have thin, louvered, french style "closet" doors with a gap in the middle when "shut" and with light shining through the louvers shouldn't be in the design biz. Very "privacy lacking" both in terms of noise, light and other aspects....not good! Definitely our major criticism.

Number two complaint; why no top sheet??? I like to sleep "cool"; even the lightweight comforter was too much sometimes. Why take away a customer's choice with "all or nothing"? Bed was very comfortable however. I wonder if they just forgot the sheet???

We booked the standard King room; I'm not one to demand huge rooms but a king bed has no place in this room....very cramped feeling esp with a huge four poster bed (which I love but...) There are only probably 2+ feet from TV/chest to footboard and not much more from bed to walls/bath entry. We walked in and went "Wow...small, small."

Be aware beds are high. We're on the tall side and have a high 4 poster at home but shorter people might very well have a problem with this. The stool provided is a trip hazard ...I found that out in the first 2 mins in the room.

Air/heat is somewhat loud...and ran most of the night. Garbage truck arrives pretty early in the morning; about 6:30 or so. Nothing the hotel can do about that but later sleepers should be aware and perhaps book rooms on another side.

Room was lacking a comfortable easy chair but it appears there might have been one at some point; a side table and a floor lamp in the corner of the room with a natural spot for a chair...but not there. Asked the front desk person but he had no idea; apparently they're re-decorating? I think with rates this high a comfy chair might be a minimal expectation. There is an armless desk chair at the desk/nightstand combo but it's right in front of the bathroom doors when pulled out...:(

Staff seemed very friendly, service-oriented but perhaps a bit inexperienced with knowledge level.

Rooftop patio is stunning...we ventured up there with our coffee before checking out in the morning. Very pretty hotel, terrific location DT.



I realize we're paying the "rent" for very expensive SB real estate but I cannot imagine paying in season prices for this room....we paid off season ($250ish) and even that was a bit rich I think for this particular room. (Location, location, location obviously....)

I wanted to love this hotel but they have some issues to address with the rooms. Hope they can pull it off.

I hesitate to put "poor" with the room rating but those bathroom doors and the size of this particular room were a major turnoff...esp for the room rate. If trendy decor is your thing and the bathroom doors don't bother you, you might love it!

We stayed in room 224.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear JaneTSBoston – first off, thank you for the Kimpton love! The Palomar SF is truly fabulous and I’m delighted to hear how impressed you were with them! That said I’m so sorry you didn’t have a similar experience here. It sounds like we got close with our friendliness and location, but definitely failed to impress from a rooming standpoint. I would love to talk through it a bit further if you are available. If so, please call me at the hotel or e-mail me directly at caroline.dyal@canarysantabarbara.com so we can chat. There are some great things on the horizon here and I would love to have you come back to see them – and to maybe have a “do over”! Thank you very much for the valuable feedback. I hope we can talk soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

For the first time you walk into the hotel it feels like home. The reception staff and the dogs that run around on the front desk are just great and give a great welcome! The rooms are lovely and the beds are the most comfortable that we have ever had at a hotel, just amazing!!!!! We ate at the hotel restaurant both nights and the food and service was fantastic. In summary an amazing hotel and we can't wait to return, thanks to everyone at the Canary!

Room Tip: From listening to other guests the beds are sooooo good it's hard to get up!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
This is by far one of my favorite opening lines to a review! Thank you so much, Smasher1!! I’m so glad you had such an amazing time while you were here. Let’s do it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay here. I usually stay at the Inn of the Spanish Garden, but since we had a group meeting, I stayed here to be with my colleagues. There are almost always people at the main entrance to open the door for you. The front desk staff was friendly, and the check-in process was fast. I asked for a high floor and received a room on the 5th floor, which is the highest room floor. My room was fairly small with a pretty tiny bathroom. My one complaint is that the lights in the bathroom are not bright enough, especially for when a woman puts on makeup. However, it was clean and cozy. The bed was spectacular! I had a king size pillow top mattress with a 4 poster canopy bed. I slept like a baby, which is very unusual for me when I am traveling. There are nice little extras in the room like a pair of binoculars if you want to go bird watching, a big candle with matchsticks which I lit before going to bed to add some ambiance for relaxation. The top floor is a must see. There is a small pol and hot tub, a fireplace with heated gas stands all around. The view from the roof overlooking Santa Barbara is wonderful, especially for sunrises and sunsets. The location is one block from State Street, and it is about one mile to the wharf. You really can't go wrong staying here. They also have a full bar and food, as well as complimentary coffee in the lobby. I believe I will stay here again next month.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
KittyAtlanta – you are the cat’s meow! Thank you for the wonderful write up! It’s wonderful to read that were well taken care of. And you are exactly right, our beds are ridiculously comfortable and I’m thrilled you actually got some great rest while travelling. Sorry for the ambient bathroom lighting. So you know for your next visit, we have lighted makeup mirrors available to borrow – just ask the front desk or include the request in your reservation. We are happy to make the assist! Thank you again so much and I can’t wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Santa Barbara
Hyatt Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canary, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canary, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Canary, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.