We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday Treat in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Canary, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct+Drinks on Us
Ranked #8 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Birthday Treat in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I took my girlfriend to Santa Barbara for her birthday last month and we stayed at Kimpton's Canary Hotel. It was a fantastic experience. We arrived early, before the 4pm check-in, so the manager gave us two drink tickets to the bar to enjoy a glass of wine. We took them, but opted to start walking around SB and use them later that evening. The hotel is very central to the shops, restaurant, and wine spots that make SB famous. The weather was lovely, so even the 20 minute walk to the pier was pleasant. After bopping around SB for a while, stopping in various boutiques and wine bars, we returned to the hotel and ate at its restaurant, Coast. The staff was excellent, the food delicious. We ordered the house made beef jerky and burrata to start; both were fantastic. We also did a round of oysters, which we both enjoyed. For dinner, she had the sea scallops and I devoured the duck breast. We shared, begrudgingly. And I say that in the best way possible because both plates were excellent.

The next day, we spent the morning sipping mimosas on the hotel's roof, sitting in the jacuzzi when the winds kicked in. The view was simply stunning. The hotel was kind enough to give us a late check out (3pm!), even though it was New Year's Eve. Now that is service. We finished the day cashing in our drink tickets, toasting to this gem of a hotel.

Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff were warm and helpful, the room cozy and fancy. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Brifo99, you make it feel like it’s OUR birthday! Thank you so much for the fantastic review. What a gift! Your review is so sweet and I appreciate your highlighting all the wonderful things that Canary & Coast have to offer. Especially Chef James’ incredible food! We hope you and your girlfriend visit again soon. Maybe a half birthday celebration is in order?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    98
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
77
255
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely, well-located hotel in the heart of Santa Barbara just off of State Street. This is an excellent hotel choice if you are more interested in shopping/nightlife than a place with an ocean view. Pool area is lovely and well designed. Pet friendly. Front desk staff is THE BEST...every single restaurant and attraction they recommended was stellar. Very friendly and eager to please. Only complain would have been the bar staff, which we found to be aloof and distracted. We would most definitely stay here again. Comfy beds, nicely furnished rooms, and a lovely experience overall.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a one bedroom suite if you are able to do so. We were in room 512 and found it to be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
KMH18, you are THE BEST! Thank you for this amazing review! I’m thrilled that the front desk team sent you in the right direction and that you had a super fun visit. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my forth stay in eighteen months and always look forward to staying at this hotel. The Kimpton Brand is a great one. Service is friendly and genuine and we feel so welcomed every time we stay. The rooms are clean spacious and nicely decorated. Can't wait to come back. Thank you for another nice stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dan S., you are awesome! This makes me so happy. Thank you so much for returning often and for sharing the love! Please let me know when you’re coming back so I can give you a big ole hug and high five you on your fifth stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Reception were very helpful, Valet parking very efficient. Hotel clean & room was very nice. Located just off State Street, not near the beach but shuttle bus on State Street will easily get you there for 50c. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Furbs! Thanks for the kind words! I’m so happy you enjoyed the Canary and the team was helpful. We can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here the weekend of 1/11-1/13 (2 adults, 2 kids). The hotel has a very similar vibe to other Kimptons we have tried (like the Monaco in Portland): very friendly service the moment you arrive; cozy, well decorated lobby; happy guests. This hotel has a nice Santa Barbara vibe to it; the decor isn't quite as over-the-top as other Kimpton properties. We had several good meals in the restaurant, and our hotel room was beautiful, with a very comfy, semi-firm mattress and very little noise. The location is urban, a block from State Street, which we really enjoyed. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the love, jhogan4! So glad you and your family had an enjoyable visit. Let’s do it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I came here a year ago with girlfriends and had a great time. Second time was just as good.

We stayed in a Junior Suite - it was a beautiful room. Nice spacious bathroom, and comfy bed.
They had a wine reception in the evening (and had cider for my daughter) and had coffee in the lobby in the morning (hot cocoa for the kids). The service is impeccable but not pretentious. I really cannot find anything wrong with this place. It was pricey, but it was New Years Eve so it's expected.

Oh, and the view from the terrace is breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
The-shmi, you are the best! Thank you! It’s so great hearing that you had a blast both on a girlfriend trip & your recent family visit. You never know how the same place will be on different kinds of getaways and I’m so glad we beat your expectations! And I love what you said about our service style. We genuinely care about every single guest and when you mean it, it just shines through. Thank you so much again! Can’t wait for your 3rd visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

While Santa Barbara is known for its higher prices, The Canary was an extremely great value and we would highly reccomend it to all, especially if your traveling with your dogs.

The staff and service stood out. What stood out was that the entire staff truly eeemd to non only enjoy their work but were proud of thoer hotel.

The location is ideal to walk to resturants, shopping and nightlife. And there are several nice areas close by to excercise your dogs. As well as an off leash beach a short drive away. The staff readily & eagerly gave us tips and directions.

While rooms might be on the smaller side, they were well maintained, clean and very comfortable. The decor was very tasteful.

The late afternoon Wine tasting was a real treat. Nice touch that dogs were notd on aq welcome Bone Board.

All in all one of the better values for a hotel we have stayed in. We definitely will go back. Oh, and beleive it or NO ANNOYING extra charges for parking and internet. Maybe just the package we where on.

And the roof top terrace has one of the best views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hey DexterDoodle! Great photo! It sounds like you had a wonderful visit to the Canary and we couldn’t be happier. It’s true; we love what we do here and have more fun than we should coming up with personalized recommendations and reservations for our guests – even of the canine variety! Thank you so much for the kudos – we are happy you came and hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canary, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canary, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Canary, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.