We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canary, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Experience
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Reception were very helpful, Valet parking very efficient. Hotel clean & room was very nice. Located just off State Street, not near the beach but shuttle bus on State Street will easily get you there for 50c. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Furbs! Thanks for the kind words! I’m so happy you enjoyed the Canary and the team was helpful. We can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    114
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
87
292
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here the weekend of 1/11-1/13 (2 adults, 2 kids). The hotel has a very similar vibe to other Kimptons we have tried (like the Monaco in Portland): very friendly service the moment you arrive; cozy, well decorated lobby; happy guests. This hotel has a nice Santa Barbara vibe to it; the decor isn't quite as over-the-top as other Kimpton properties. We had several good meals in the restaurant, and our hotel room was beautiful, with a very comfy, semi-firm mattress and very little noise. The location is urban, a block from State Street, which we really enjoyed. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the love, jhogan4! So glad you and your family had an enjoyable visit. Let’s do it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I came here a year ago with girlfriends and had a great time. Second time was just as good.

We stayed in a Junior Suite - it was a beautiful room. Nice spacious bathroom, and comfy bed.
They had a wine reception in the evening (and had cider for my daughter) and had coffee in the lobby in the morning (hot cocoa for the kids). The service is impeccable but not pretentious. I really cannot find anything wrong with this place. It was pricey, but it was New Years Eve so it's expected.

Oh, and the view from the terrace is breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
The-shmi, you are the best! Thank you! It’s so great hearing that you had a blast both on a girlfriend trip & your recent family visit. You never know how the same place will be on different kinds of getaways and I’m so glad we beat your expectations! And I love what you said about our service style. We genuinely care about every single guest and when you mean it, it just shines through. Thank you so much again! Can’t wait for your 3rd visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

While Santa Barbara is known for its higher prices, The Canary was an extremely great value and we would highly reccomend it to all, especially if your traveling with your dogs.

The staff and service stood out. What stood out was that the entire staff truly eeemd to non only enjoy their work but were proud of thoer hotel.

The location is ideal to walk to resturants, shopping and nightlife. And there are several nice areas close by to excercise your dogs. As well as an off leash beach a short drive away. The staff readily & eagerly gave us tips and directions.

While rooms might be on the smaller side, they were well maintained, clean and very comfortable. The decor was very tasteful.

The late afternoon Wine tasting was a real treat. Nice touch that dogs were notd on aq welcome Bone Board.

All in all one of the better values for a hotel we have stayed in. We definitely will go back. Oh, and beleive it or NO ANNOYING extra charges for parking and internet. Maybe just the package we where on.

And the roof top terrace has one of the best views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hey DexterDoodle! Great photo! It sounds like you had a wonderful visit to the Canary and we couldn’t be happier. It’s true; we love what we do here and have more fun than we should coming up with personalized recommendations and reservations for our guests – even of the canine variety! Thank you so much for the kudos – we are happy you came and hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Canary over new year (including the NYE party on the roof top). I was really pleased with our room which had a wonderfully comfortable four poster bed and was decorated in a tasteful but colourful way. The wine reception every day was great and we found the staff to be very helpful throughout. A couple of little niggles - we kept having to re-set the tv to get the digital channels and while we had booked bed and breakfast, it wasn't made clear to us that the included breakfast was just a coffee and a pastry. Not sure how we would even have got this.

A special mention for the party - it was really fun on the rooftop but 85usd cover charge per person with just one drink was a bit steep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Emma F,
Yay! So glad you enjoyed yourself here at Canary and took in some New Years Eve rooftop party fun! It sounds like the staff was helpful even through the little niggles (my new favorite word) – which I am sorry you experienced. It sounds like we have a little work to do with breakfast, so thank you for that feedback too. I hope we get to have you come visit our beautiful property again soon! Don’t be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcat26
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had a hard time deciding on a Santa Barbara hotel because I wanted a good location. It turns out I couldn't have made a better choice. This was perfect. We were close to shopping and restaurants, and just had to hop on the electric shuttle to visit the wharf and zoo. Plus, I love the decor. It reminded me of my trip to Spain.

The rooftop terrace was wonderful. Our room was spotless and large with a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and professional. The night of our arrival we missed the complimentary wine so they gave us vouchers to get a free glass from the bar. If I return to Santa Barbara I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Travelcat26, thank you so much for your review! I’m so glad you had such a great time here at the Canary and in Santa Barbara! We are fortunate to be a sweet spot right in the middle of the action with a view like no other. Your words regarding the staff were so sweet – thank you! I hope we get to take care of you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just spent a few nights including NYE (including the rooftop NYE party) at the Canary. It has what you expect from Kimpton properties, but with a Santa Barbara flavor. The staff were incredibly welcoming and accommodating, the lobby was warm and inviting (especially with mulled cider and wine in the evenings), the beds were very comfortable (wish they sold them like Westins do), and very centrally located, in the heart of State Street shopping and dining. We booked a Junior Suite, since we were spending several nights on vacation and wanted some extra space. The decor was very Santa Barbara, with brightly colored tile and folksy furniture, but I could have done without the bathroom doors that were more like shutters with open slats that gave little (sound) privacy. Parking is $25 a night (valet only). Overall, a wonderful stay, but with a few minor issues (listed in Cons, below).
PROS: Kimpton hospitality, location for shopping and dining, room comfort
CONS: most junior suites apparently face the inner driveway with the valet parking, so if you're a light and early sleeper you may be kept awake with the sound of intermittent slamming car doors; our room kept having issues with the TVs only getting about 1/3 of the channels and needed to be repeatedly reset by maintenance; luxury hotel in Santa Barbara, so it's priced accordingly

Room Tip: light sleepers ask to avoid inner driveway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Dyal, General Manager at Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Ptbooth, was that you doing the electric slide on New Years’ Eve? If so, nice moves! Thank you so much for attending our party and ringing in the New Year with us! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, the team and the inviting touches we had for the holiday season. I’m sorry for the TV issues you experienced (which have since been resolved) but it sounds like you made up for it with some fun shopping and wine hour. Also, just so you know, we actually do sell the beds on our Kimpton website so hopefully you can take that experience home with you! Thank you again and hopefully we can do it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canary, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canary, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 31 West Carrillo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Canary Hotel Santa Barbara)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canary, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most stylish place to land in Santa Barbara? Come to the Canary Hotel. Nestled near State Street’s galleries, shops and restaurants, this fun-filled, full-service boutique hotel is a short stroll from beautiful beaches and a quick drive to wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Canary, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canary Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Canary Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canary, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.