We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like vagrants and very loud street noise - this place is for you.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Phoenix
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you like vagrants and very loud street noise - this place is for you.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

This was a "motel" not a hotel. From the multitude of very loud vagrants camping on the park bench across from our balcony to the EXTREMELY loud street noise from the street below, it was not a viable option to open the window in order to get air moving in the room. Not disclosed to us prior, this hotel has no A/C (or heating) although our room came equipment with a thermostat and a register??? The days hit temps in the mid 80's making it quite warm. Opening the sliding door to balcony for air was not an option due to overwhelming street noise and also due to safety concerns. It's a 2 story hotel located centrally but in a challenging section of SB where bums hang out and sleep, so that we did not feel safe to attempt to sleep with our sliding door open. Our inability to open the door for air meant we slept in a very hot, very muggy room. When we called down to the front desk to complain, they sent someone up who told us to turn the thermostat up to 90 and turn fan "on" since they run cool water through pipes in the warmer months and this is supposed to generate cool air in the rooms??...Not only counter intuitive, this did nothing to cool the room and instead made it even louder as the fan attempted to move air. In fact zero air came out of the register. Ugh. Bathroom floor had not been cleaned and there were hairs on the floor and tub was dirty. Light fixture in bathroom was connected to the noisest fan ever (one universal switch) and since there was no natural light in the bathroom, we had no choice but to endure the fan noise in order to use the bathroom. At $105 per night (plus tax AND daily parking fee) we expected a whole lot more. Bring earplugs!!! Good side and why I gave it a better than "terrible" rating: bed was comfortable, free wifi and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    185
    74
    23
    20
See reviews for
158
203
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We had difficulty in finding a reasonably priced one night stay at the weekend in Santa Barbara and booked the Best Western Beachside Inn with some trepidation. We found the position of the hotel to be ideal, the room a little small but clean and well equiped, car parking only $3 extra and they allowed us to leave the car there the following morning whilst we went sightseeing. The staff were very helpful, complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and for what we paid it was very good value.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — A little noisy in the morning
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

This hotel is situated at the harbour end of the town right across the road from the beach. It is a short walk to Stern's Wharf & State Street. There are longer, scenic walks right along the coast with plenty of places to stop & take coffee. Sunday mornings are very pleasant with artists & craftsmen selling/displaying their goods along the front.
My room was decorated in pleasant cool shades. It comes with TV, clock/radio, iron/board, hairdryer, coffeemaker, microwave, fridge, ceiling fan, balcony, two double beds & two armchairs.
I feel that the standard of the rooms is better than you might expect if viewing the public areas (I acknowledge from earlier posts that not all rooms have been updated).
The continental breakfast is fine to start the day & is served from 6.30-10.30. There are only a few tables & chairs in the lobby area, and it is generally easiest & more comfortable to eat by the pool.
There is some street noise during the night with the boy racers revving their engines, but (for me) not a major problem

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

This hotel is run down, dirty and overpriced!

We stayed there during the first week in June. The room was a 1-bedroom suite and $236 a night. The carpets had stains, the bathroom had peeling paint, was dirty and the toilet seat wasn't even attached! Front door did not shut all the way,

Most the other hotels have a higher weekend rate and then reduce the rate Sun-Thurs. Not this hotel!

Also, the way the hotel is built like a donut around the pool. Very noisy.

There's a park across the street that the homeless sleep in. Not really within walking distance to downtown.

We had problems with the room, and because we didn't book it through the Best Western 800 number (we called the hotel direct), they didn't do anything.

Our friends stayed at the Blue Sands - absolutely gorgeous - for less money!

  • Liked — It is close to the harbor.
  • Disliked — The filth and the homeless.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruce123
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

This hotel is horrible. The hotel is directly on the street and our room was unbelievably loud. All the beach traffic pretty much is outside your window. Their were also ants that we found crawling on our sheets and after reading the reviews this isnt the first ant complaint. Be very wary staying here its overpriced, noisy and dirty for the price find another hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Hollywood
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed for the 4th of July weekend on an oceanview newly renovated room and we had a great time, The hotel is walking distance to shopping, to the beach and good restaurants. Most of all the hotel staff was so nice and very accomodating. Two days after we checked out I realized I forgot my binder with has my account numbers in it. I called the hotel and Jess Fletcher of the Front Desk and Luz Estrada of Housekeeping went out of their way to actually check the room inspite of their busy schedule. Lo and behold they found it and they even helped shipped it back to me. It's well worth every penny I spent to book in this hotel. KUDOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness new furnishings
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

Before I booked this hotel, I checked the reviews here on Tripadvisor. One user noted that he was ultimately disappointed with the look and feel of Beachside Inn after passing by more aesthetically pleasing neighboring hotels such as Oceana and Habor View Inn. This user certainly hit the nail on the head!

Compared to its neighboring hotels, Beachside Inn was dark, gloomy, and had a low quality motel feel to it. It wouldn't be so bad if I paid less than $100 per night, but for a two night stay, I paid almost $400, which included the typical add-on fees.

There was nothing impressive about our room. The bathroom had a small standing shower that had no place to put your shampoo/conditioner. There were glass cups provided on the nightstand, which were dirty. I thought there was free wi-fi but I guess they were talking about the tiny outdated computer in the lobby. The front desk was definitely NOT friendly or approachable. The continental breakfast was your typical bagels, cream cheese, bread, PB&J, fruit, cereal, coffee variety, which was just fine. Having breakfast was one of the few Pro's of this place.

The only other Pro's would be the location. It was only a few blocks from Stearns Wharf and State Street. But like I said, the neighboring hotels appeared to be much nicer, including Harbor View Inn, which a couple we met bragged was an amazing hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Quality
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.