We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel. The location is really convenient to the beach and downtown. The park and kids' wading pool across the street were nice surprises. The hotel pool was also very good. The breakfast was okay - it gets very crowded and it would be nice to have one of those Belgian waffle irons. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks Guys,
We appreciate the kind words. The location was handed to us, so we won't take credit, but as for the staff, many thanks for noticing. We have a great time every day enjoying what we do so we try to have it reflect in our ability to relate to our guests. So far most see it but we can trying harder every day. Please come and visit. I have a fantastic upgrade / renovation planned soon so come see the even better hotel that we will have.
All the best
HJRobbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    149
    67
    20
    19
See reviews for
126
170
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while on our vacation in Santa Barbara. The location between the SB Harbor & Stearn's Wharf was great for walking to these destinations which have lots of restaurants & shops to peruse.
The beach was literally across one street & a park was across from the other from this hotel. That was good for us because BW Beachside Inn is a pet-friendly hotel, so we brought our Yellow Lab on vacation with us. She was happy frolicking in the waves at the dog-friendly beach (Arroyo Burro Beach -- a short drive from the hotel) or playing fetch in the nearby park. Warning: the park can be a little sketchy with homeless folks roaming around, sometimes shouting obscenities, but mostly we felt safe if we kept to ourselves. It gets cleared out by nighttime.
The hotel is located on the corner of two busy streets, but the sound-proofing in the room allowed us to enjoy a quiet stay. The pool is heated, so my kids enjoyed that when we weren't at the beach. The only complaint they had about it was that it was a little dirty with sand & dead bugs floating around.
The service was top-notch with a friendly staff. Our room was always sparkling when we returned from a day's excursion. Plus, the beds were SUPER comfortable -- a very pleasant surprise for me because I can be a little picky about the mattresses in hotels.
The continental breakfast that was served each morning offered a little more than your usual fare with cheese omelets & sausage that my daughter now craves! They also offered danishes, bagels & croissants, cereal, yogurt, juices, milk & coffee. It can get a little crowded as the morning lingers on, so if you don't want to cram into the hotel lobby for breakfast, Sambo's, a wonderful breakfast & lunch place right down the street, will have a table waiting for you, with inside or outside seating. They are also pet-friendly, so Fido can dine al fresco with the family.
Overall, we had a great experience at BW Beachside Inn & would recommend it to families that are on a budget, but want a centrally-located place. Also if your dog is a close part of your family, they can come along too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Susan,
Thanks so much for your great feedback. We're all part of a GREAT new team of staff members
bringing a new life to this amazing little hotel, which as you have seen is perfectly located for everything. Let me know next time you visit, we have a great new "Fido" treat ready for your baby.
See you soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is great for couples. It is such a romantic place that I felt like I could just live there forever. We had such a wonderful time the staff was absolutely perfect. The food quality was unbelievable. I will go there again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Justine,
My staff and I are thrilled you had such a great time! The new staff and I will be here for a long time ready to take care of you again on your next visit. See you soon for much more fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Room was Okay, a few small anoy issues like having to go to recep twice before room key finally worked. No toilet in lobby, so have to go back to room even if having breakfast. Breakfast was okay, but not great. Had to ask for plain tea as only had herbal type teas (i call perfume teas) and everything was realllly salty. The lights in bathroom come on automatically when you go in, so if you werent fully awake before you are now. Good location as only a long walk to town and shorter walk to pier. Also a bus goes by, for those of use who are lazy. We arrived from LA using Roadrunner a private shuttle service, it was great as we where the only passangers and he took us the senic route along the beach and did the tour guide thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Guys,
Thanks so much for the honest feedback. If you return next year from "downunder" you'll be coming back to a new hotel. I have a great upgrade / renovation project scheduled for later this year addressing all those little items you mentioned. We're on it. I promise. Or, feel free to come back sooner, we'll still be at this awesome location...for a looooooong time!!!
All the best
HJ Robbins - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villnachern
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while on a California trip. We just stopped in Santa Barbara and we really appreciate. The place is very calm and the hotel is near to the beach. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean.
For an overnight stay it's always you need. Good service, good room, included parking place, wifi and breakfast.

Furthermore we were looking for a restaurant for dinner and the hotel suggested us a very nice restaurant on the ocean and they also gave us a gift card for a free appetizer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Daniel,

Thanks for stopping in and even more thanks for your Kudos. My staff and I are new at this hotel and we're looking forward to having you and all our guests return again and again. Stop by anytime and we'll be glad to take great care of you. Always here to help!!!

HJ Robbins GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 4 days over July 4th weekend. Great location and the staff is very attentive and welcoming. It is noisy at times but is expected since it is on a busy street across from the marina. Very nice complementary breakfast in the morning. The big complaint is the lack of managing quiet time at night on the property itself. Fourth of July was noisy as expected from the streets and the property guests, but around 1130pm I had had enough and my kids needed to get to sleep. There were a group of loud people on the second floor patio which was next to room 231. I called the front desk and got no answer. I called again and it rang about 15 times before David picked it up. He sounded like he just woke up. He informed me that quiet time was around 10pm but that it was a holiday. I asked that the noisy guests be asked to be quiet and leave the patio area. He kept commenting that he could not control the streets and the people walking on the sidewalks, nor the occasional fireworks. I agreed but told him he could control the motel guests on the property especially when they are partying on a second floor patio which is next to a room. The guests did not stop/leave until 1210am (40 minutes later).
I spoke to the manager the next day and asked that some sort of quiet time be enforced and to please speak to the night shift. The manager informed me about a 11pm quiet time. I said fine just please enforce it. That night the pool area was rocking until 1230am at which time I called again and spoke with David who said he had just returned from talking to the guests. It did get quiet after that. The next night (Sat) was fine. Would love to return to that same location but was not happy about not getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Nick,

Good to hear from you again. Thanks for the feedback regarding July 4th. I spoke with David on new tactics on handling noise issues which unfortunately are inevitable. We're all on it trying to help resolve the issue amicably for everyone, since we really do want our guests to enjoy our special location themselves day or night. Please visit again and contact me directly for another great stay!!!

HJ Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE MAY COURT HOUSE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here on our way up the coast to San Francisco from San Diego. We wished we would have booked for more than one night. Not a fancy hotel, but friendly owner and helpful staff with a really nice (free) continental breakfast made it a great stop. Great location across from the beach. We could walk just about any place that we wanted to go. Rooms were clean and my husband loved the clean heated pool. Loved Santa Barbara and will definitely plan a longer stay next time. My only negative was that it was a little expensive but I think that is normal for Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachsideGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Susan,

Thanks for the kind words. I remember meeting you guys and wishful thinking on my part, but I'm not the owner yet :) Hope to see you guys again in the future. The Beachside Inn will be waiting for you. Hope you had a safe trip...

HJ Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.