We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be better choices out there.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Luis Obispo, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must be better choices out there.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

We picked this due to it's proximity to train station -about 1/2 mile walk; and price - $107 plus taxes. After walking by the Oceana and West Beach Inn, we were deflated to see the industrial look of the BW. Our room -108 - was next to the pool gate, and the room not very sound proof. We were out late, so it didn't bother us, but if you keep early hours, beware.
Pool was about the smallest I've seen with negliglble landscaping.
Room was tiny. No microwave, dvd, or fridge. Did have large flatscreen tv. Small-seeming queen bed was ok. Furnishings were strange! Some kind of tall empty consul held the coffee maker and the 2 chairs and table were aluminum and plastic patio style.
Good water pressure in shower, but it leaked all over the floor, no matter how careful we were. Not pretty, but clean.
Continental breakfast was better than a lot of places. Breads, bagels, sweet rolls, fruit and cold cereals -and a large bowl of hard boiled eggs!
We'd try somewhere else next time, but if we were in a jam, we'd make do with this place.

Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    185
    74
    23
    20
See reviews for
157
203
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hewlett, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

We were looking for a quick night in Santa Barbara and came across this hotel for less than $100. We didn't expect much more than a quick crashpad. We were pleasantly surprised.

This room had a very nice living room area with a seperate bedroom. Both rooms had very large Flat screens TV with many channels of cable.

It was raining when we were there but the pool looked average for a best Western.

All in all a good stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

The building is a little dated, but the rooms were up to date and quite clean.

The nice part of the hotel is that is it right along the pier and the central part of state street is only about 10-15 minute walk, about 10 8 blocks away. the price was good and there is a small park across
the street.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pima, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

Older Best Western, view of beach, facilities ok, no Spa, Easy access to shuttles and tourist areas. We are looking for a place in Santa Barbara to spend time while visiting ... This hotel would work... but slightly dated. Internet access worked well. Bed comfortable. Clean room and bath room. Breakfast was as advertised and plentiful. Staff friendly.

  • Liked — Close to beach and transit to tourist areas
  • Disliked — Heater did not work
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

I stayed here on a weekday, so the price was OK. The hotel is in a great location for walking around to State street and the Harbor area. The bed was comfortable, free wireless. decent breakfast. The train only jolted me awake 1X.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed in room 229, a "mini suite". Upon entering this room, I was pleasantly surprised how clean and nice it looked. It was comprised of two very small rooms, both with large flat screen televisions, a ceiling fan in each room, the furinture & carpet seemed fairly new and clean. So in the room getting ready we start noticing that's it's warm in there so we try to turn on the air conditioning. There is a control on the wall (what it controls, I have no idea) and a device below that that appears as if it may function as an air conditioner, but apparently it's just for looks. So we try to turn up the ceiling fans, but they apparently have only one speed which is very low. We open all the windows to try to cool it off, but to no avail. I am not exaggerating when I say that it was about 10 degrees hotter in the room than it was outside, and honestly, if this was the only problem, I wouldn't have minded, but unfortunately that was only the tip of the iceberg.

After going out for the night, we came back to the room, which wasw swtill pretty warm and tried to sleep. I started to notice how very hard the mattress was, but figured once I fell asleep it wouldn't matter. Of course it was difficult to sleep since the windows were open and it was pretty loud outside with surrounding streets, guests shouting, oh, and don't forget the train station, which is apparently VERY close and they apparently have the requirement that every train that comes in to the station idles for approximately 5 minutes while tooting it's whistle the whole time!!!! So anyway, somehow we fall asleep and can live with the situation until around 12:30 in the mornining when the real fun began... Around that time my husband and I were JOLTED out of our beds by THE LOUDEST BANGING NOISE EVER! I can only assume that it was the water pipes in the wall, that is truly my best guess, but I really don't know. It sounded as if a car had hit the side of the building. THIS IS NOT AN EXAGGERATION. This noise continued to happen THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE NIGHT, I would say it occurred periodically, at least twice an hour, lasting for about 10 seconds or so each time. There is NO WAY any person with the gift of hearing could possible sleep through this.

Unfortunately, now that we were awake ( and I mean VERY awake because the sound is so loud and jarring that it truly scares the life out of you each time it happens) we are now VERY aware of how uncomfortable the bed is. It was to the point that my husband finally got up and opened up the sleeper sofa in the other room and we slept on that, AND IT WASN'T A COMFORTABLE SLEEPER SOFA, but it was better than the bed. Of course the train is still tooting, it's still very hot in there and there is still traffic & people noise.... but truly the WORST thing was the jarring noise of the water pipes or whatever it was that kept happening throughout the night until approximately 5:30 a.m..

I promise you that it was the longest night of my life, and I spent most of it laying there praying that time would go by faster & thinking of what I would write on this site. I honestly considered going out to my car to sleep, but frankly it didn't seem too safe, and I'm pregnant, so it really didn't seem like a good idea. I kept PRAYING for it to be 5:00 so it would be a somewhat reasonable time to get up & leave. We did not complain in the middle of the night because we felt like what difference would it make, we'd just be put in another hot room with an uncomfortable bed & kept hoping we would fall asleep.

When we complained in the morning they could not have cared less! They acted as if they had no idea in what we were talking about with the noise, which I find VERY hard to believe that no one has ever complained about that noise before ( we even spoke to the people in the room next to us who heard the sound all night too) and the clerk actually asked us if it was the water pipes or the air conditioning pipes! (a) like I know and (b) WHAT AIR CONDITIONING?!?!?! Is that a joke? We were offered no apologies or courtesies... the most we got was the manager's business card so we could call & talk to her ( because of course she wasn't there). And the real insult to injury is that we paid $216 to stay in this dump and a few nights later we spent approximately the same amount to stay in a beautiful place with anything your heart desires included.

BOTTOM LINE: YOU ARE BETTER OFF SLEEPING IN YOUR CAR THAN PAYING ANY AMOUNT TO STAY IN THIS DUMP!!!!! YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!

  • Liked — leaving it!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — being there!!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walnut creek, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Just stayed at this charming small hotel on the beach in Santa Barbara. Had one of the smaller poolside rooms but the flat screen tv and the brand new decor made it really nice. Prices are high in Santa Barbara this time of year but the property at least was nice for the money. Also, beach and the wharf area are just accross the street. Nice place.

  • Liked — new rooms and flat screen tv in poolside rooms
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn

Address: 336 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Beachside Inn, perfectly located just across the street and a few minutes walking distance from the harbor, pier and beaches of Santa Barbara. From our fantastic location, you can also enjoy a beautiful walk to "downtown" Santa Barbara, and experience all our world class dining and shopping. And to make life even easier, the Santa Barbara beachfront/downtown electric shuttle is available at our front door if you're planning to have an even more relaxing day while visiting. Our 60 room hotel will be sure to offer you the quaint charm, which represents Santa Barbara's essence. But we also offer some of the most modern conveniences. From our very hi-speed internet, to a fabulous continental breakfast and the latest in air conditioning / heating systems, we are all confident you will have a memorable visit here in Santa Barbara all handled by our fabulous staff.We look forward to welcoming all of you to our wonderful littleescape by the sea in beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beachside Hotel Santa Barbara
Best Western Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.