We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McConnell's Ice Cream

McConnell's Ice Cream
728 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
(805) 324-4402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Almost 70 years later, we make our ice creams as we always have: from scratch, in small batches, with Central Coast, grass-grazed milk & cream we pasteurize from raw at our creamery at The Old Dairy (c. 1934) And the finest local, sustainable and organic, raw ingredients, sourced from partner farms, artisans and purveyors we've worked with, in many cases, for decades.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I am a big ice cream fan, this place does excellent quality ice cream, natural ingredients, creamy and a good choice of flavours. Unfortunately it still gas calories in otherwise I would be there daily.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    14
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spoilt for choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We went to the branch on State Street around 8.00 p.m and had to queue for about 15 minutes, which was helpful because it took us that long to decide what to have. The ice cream is charged at a premium price (2 scoops for about $7) but, of course,they would argue that it is a premium ice cream. There is a huge choice with some interesting combinations, but I can't help thinking that the best are probably the single flavour ice creams.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth queuing for . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Went for ice cream at McConnell's twice with our kids while in Santa Barbara.
What a magnificent place! Excellent range of flavours - especially loved the key lime pie flavour - and delicious ice cream.
Always seemed to be very busy with long queues but worth the wait and a nice atmosphere inside.
Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best ice cream sundae's in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place is packed but well worth the wait! Absolutely loved my custom sundae! Best vanilla ice cream I have had in a long time! A must in Santa Barbara!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very interesting flavours and amazing taste!! We later found out that this place is on the world's 30 best ice cream places!! Go check it out!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConnell's Ice Cream also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to McConnell's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McConnell's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.