We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, it was very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sojourner Cafe

Sojourner Cafe
134 E Canon Perdido St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2225
805-965-7922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 449 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Gardiner, Montana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Overall, it was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We've eaten here a few times many years ago and wanted to try it again. It is a relaxed atmosphere but nothing fancy. The service is good! Very helpful. We had a hummus appetizer and it was dry and tasteless. The waitress had no problem taking it away. My wife had the Thai Red Curry and I had the Garlic Ceaser Salad with grilled Salmon. Both meal were excellent! The Vegan Dream shake was good and the Lime Sorbet for dessert was just okay.
(They have vegetarian and vegan choices).

I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Taste vegetarian dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Went there with my partner, he is a veggie, we had some tortillas, tacos, gringo platter, be prepare for big portions and take some back home with you as we could not finished all, delicious and taste food, surprised for me as I am not a vegetarian, will go back again, prices are excellent, good value, service was ok and relaxed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummmmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great vegetarian food. The ambiance is very down to earth so we did take out and really enjoyed it. The food was ready in about 20 minutes. My tostada was a bit spicy but very yummy.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were staying at a hotel close by and weren't feeling well so wanted something light to eat in our room. We found Sojourner on tripadvisor searching for vegetarian restaurants.
We were very impressed! We had the pea soup the tofu buddha salad and the mediterranean appetizer. Everything was delicious!...I almost wanted to drink the salad dressing. When my husband went to pick up the food they suggested a hot juice with garlic, ginger and cayenne pepper to help with his cold. It was potent, but the perfect remedy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Good, Healthy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Sojourner has been a favorite for years, and in many respects, Santa Barbara is a vegan friendly environment. While Sojourner is not exclusively vegan, the entire staff "gets it." There is a changing menu of daily specials, and a list of time tested regular items. Favorites include the Budda Salad and the Mediterranean Torta (a tower of veggies, hummus and other good stuff on a bed of greens.) Generally there is a vegan soup or stew. I recently had the African Nut Stew. Wonderful on a chilly night.

It's been years since I've had any of their meals based on animal products, but I assume the same level of care goes there, too.

Sojourner has a comfortable neighborhood cafe feel. Not fancy. The draw is the food.
One drawback: There are chalkboards in the bathrooms. However, there has not been any chalk provided for at least six months. I've asked, but to no avail.

I dine here about 4 times a month with my wife, and we love it. Unpretentious and healthy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sojourner Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Sojourner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sojourner Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.