We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe's What More Can I Say?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Cafe

Joe's Cafe
536 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1602
805-966-4638
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 449 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Joe's Cafe, a venerable Santa Barbara dining and drinking institution, is the oldest restaurant in the city. Over the years, it has become a favorite for locals and tourists alike, who mingle over cocktails or chat during dinner in a buzzing, traditional atmosphere. The exceptional ambiance underscores its rich heritage and long history. Our menu is hand crafted, modern American favorites in generous portions. Diners can find everything from prime steaks and chops, savory lamb shank, market fresh seafood and vegetables, classic sandwiches, pastas, daily soups, burgers, vegetarian entrees, and salads.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Joe's What More Can I Say?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Another local eatery which my wife & I love to visit when we come into town. Be aware though.... you might have to wait to get a table, timing is everything. Food and service is wonderful & you won't go away hungry.

I did try a Bloody Mary last time I was there sine our server suggested it. I would never order one again, just my preference.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    85
    47
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huntington beach, ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Went with my brother and parents on my brother's recommendation. The drinks are the stiffest drinks as the ad says. All of the food is tasty (I had the fried chicken which I was unable to finish in one sitting). Atmosphere was great and everyone came by to talk to my brother.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food is typical of bar food... steaks and chops and pasta... I found it so noisy one could not converse with table-mates. Wild during a game but the drinks are good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gross overpriced food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were traveling with our one-year-old and were looking for a family dinner before checking into our hotel and getting him to bed early. After seeing that most restaurants in the area don't open/serve dinner until at least 5:30, we popped into Joe's as the menu seemed decent and family friendly. The staff was ok, a little annoyed that we needed a few minutes to settle and look at the menu. The disappointment really kicked in once we received our food. We started with the calamari--gross. Awful. Worst we've ever tasted! We both ordered sandwhiches: the pastrami and the open-faced steak sandwich. The pastrami was just ok. The steak was so unevenly cooked that half remained on the plate as it was almost completely raw. The "greens" salad was iceberg. Yuck. French fries tasted freezer burnt. Gross. It was disappointing to see how much we had spent and would have been far better off at Subway again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I visited Joe's again after a 30 year break and many happy memories. I am glad to say little has changed in that time and Joe's retains the character that I so much loved all those years ago. The breakfast I had was great, eggs cooked perfectly, crispy bacon, hash browns accompanied by delicious fluffy panckes. The service was excellent too and our waitress could not have been more helpful.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.