We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palace Grill

The Palace Grill
8 E Cota St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1617
+1 805-963-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Established in 1985, The Palace Grill is a Santa Barbara landmark restaurant featuring authentic New Orleans-inspired cuisine and a fun, lively atmosphere. Winner of The Santa Barbara's Independent Reader's Poll for "Best Restaurant Service". Located in Santa Barbara's charming Old Town district, The Palace Grill has something for everyone. Our menu features a wide range of contemporary American Grill items with a focus on authentic Southern and Louisiana specialties such as Jambalaya, Crawfish Etouffee, New Orleans Bar-B-Que Shrimp, Blackened Filet Mignon, and delicious daily "Menu Additions". In addition we have a number of exciting Caribbean dishes and a line of Creole-Italian pastas. To insure that we remain authentic, the Palace routinely flies its staff to New Orleans to experience first-hand the magical quality of the city that has inspired the spirit of the Palace Grill. The Palace has been featured in dozens of national publications including Gourmet(R) Magazine, Bon Appetit(R) and USA TODAY(R). Throughout the years, The Palace has also been a favorite of culinary legends (including chef Julia Child and chef Wolfgang Puck) and has served its cuisine to countless global dignitaries - including 5 U. S. Presidents. At the Palace Grill, everyone shares one goal: to give our guests the most extraordinary dining experience possible: every time they visit. Besides our wonderful cuisine, The Palace is known for it's unique style of "Team Service" (which the Nation's Restaurant News called "an idea whose time has come") and our nostalgic nightly staff and guest Sing-A-Long to Louis Armstrong's iconic song - "What A Wonderful World." Come join the celebration known as "The Palace Grill Experience."
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place is amazing. Great Cajun in Santa Barbara??? Oh yea, its amazing. Wonderful food, service is a kick and they know how to help you celebrate an event. We are going again next week and can't wait to take my husband, I know he'll be excited!! Reservations are a must...don't expect to get in just walking in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    70
    29
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. So-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We read all of the reviews on yelp and people either were totally in love with the place or were very critical that the food is not 'cajun-enough'. Loved the atmosphere and the crowd. Our service was great. The food was so-so, as described by the more critical food reviews. We still enjoyed our visit to The Palace.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Fantastic food. I had the red fish and by BF had the soft shell crab. We both enjoyed our food very much. The atmosphere was convivial. The wait staff was excellent.

It was odd having excellent Cajun food outside NOLA, but it was true....just excellent Cajun food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“MOST ENJOYABLE SERVICE IN THE CITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went there for lunch after not having been there for several years. Waited upon by two waiters who could not have been more gracious, pleasant, and informative, and who did not foist their names upon us. Had the popcorn crayfish and sumptuous coconut shrimp for appetizers. Then crab cakes for one and a soft shell crab BLT for the other. Fair prices, very pleasant and jovial atmosphere. Don't be put off by the rather worn exterior (not at all suggestive of a "palace"). Inside is a really enjoyable eating experience. Can't recommend it more highly. Rated the outdoor setting a "one" because there isn't any. But by all means go to the Palace.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trip-Adviser-3000, Public Relations Manager at The Palace Grill, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you VERY much. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMEND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had so many choices of restaurants during my stay in Santa Barbara so I was ecstatic that I made The Palace Grill one of my choices. The staff makes you feel so at home and is simply anxious to please. The food is fabulous. New Orleans is my favorite place to eat and one of my favorite travel spots so you can understand how enjoyable this experience was. Everything is freshly made to your with great concern for your satisfaction. I would go back over and over if I could. I recommend this restaurant highly. You would be wise to make a reservation. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palace Grill also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to The Palace Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palace Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.