We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Cask

Wine Cask
813 Anacapa St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
+1 805-966-9463
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wine Cask is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 463 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar, American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Canon Perdido
Description: DOUG MARGERUM and MITCHELL SJERVEN'S Wine Cask, located in downtown Santa Barbara in the historic El Paseo complex, offers the best of all worlds to enjoy a delicious lunch or dinner in a stylishly relaxed setting. Their passion is great food, the highest caliber of service and bringing back the comfort and nostalgia of one of Santa Barbara's favorite restaurants. Indulge in great foods featuring the freshest local ingredients and select from the best wine list in town, not to mention signature cocktails that change regularly. Whether you're looking for a casual drink and shared plates al fresco on the patio lounge or nestled up in front of the fireplace, or feel like a lively dinner in the main room, you'll find what you're craving at the Wine Cask.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We were in the area and picked this restaurant for lunch. Crab cakes and sandwiches were well prepared with interesting additions such as corn and sauces. Price is reasonable. Patio is beautiful. Recommended overall.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    49
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you visit Santa Barbara you should go to Wine Cash. Its a great place to eat a perfect meal with your friends but you have to take in consideration that its expensive but again the dishes served deserve the high prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unique menu in a warm environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Wine Cask features many unique menu choices with interesting food combinations and innovative ingredients. The environment of the restaurant is comfortable and luxurious. The noise level was very comfortable making it easy to enjoy the company of our dinner companions. Good place to enjoy a dinner with friends!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, seems to be a local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoyed our special dishes which were excellently prepared, including roasted parsnip soup and branzino. The waiter gave good recommendations for the wine. The restaurant seemed to be very popular with local residents.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I had a business lunch and the client picked the location. Tucked away in the corner of the historic section of town tis location provides a wonderful ambiance. We were early for lunch 11:30 and we were seated in a quiet location. Prompt service and food was good.Waiter could see we were in discussion and continued to serve without being invasive. We had the salmon salad and enchiladas Dessert was more memorable than the meal. My client ice cream and sorbet combo and I had the very yummy butterscotch pudding.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Cask also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Wine Cask? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Cask, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.