We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant homemade tortillas, ole!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Paseo Restaurant

El Paseo Restaurant
10 El Paseo, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2230
805-962-6050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 463 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $20 - $35
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant homemade tortillas, ole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

One of our favorite stops in Santa Barbara. Pretty restaurant tucked away off of State St. The best Margaritas we ever had! Seriously! Home made tortilla and fresh guacamole prepared at your table. And the best service from our smiling happy waitress Yesenia. Not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Arrived and waited to be greeted. Eventually a bus boy came to us ..checked for a table then handed us the menus and pointed in the direction of the table...he couldn't be bothered to bring us down to it. While our waiter was friendly I had to ask for water and a glass for my beer. food was OK nothing special. I was served my fajitas without tortillas ....they appeared on table about 5 mins later ..no apology.Did not feel welcome in this restaurant and was glad to leave.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible, uncaring management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Went last night for Daughters 3rd bday dinner. Inlaws, wife, Son, and birthday girl. Place was empty at 545pm. Food was remarkably good. We were charged full price on advertized 1/2 price items. Server told us the Manager, Alex Castillo said to charge us full price. We asked to see him. He refused to come out and meet with us. Turns out Alex Castillo is also the GM. No wonder the restaurant was empty. Alex Castillo is ripping everyone off!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Save a trip to cabo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

El paseo restaurant is probably not the most exquisite traditional mexican food restaurant in So.Ca, but you HAVE to experience it. Seating on their patio is saving you a trip to Cabo San Lucas, you will enjoy sipping a margarita and listenning to the mariachis. This casual dinning is great with friends and family. Check it out and soon you will become aficionados. Buen provecho, Amigos.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Love this charming, beautiful restaurant. The indoor/outdoor style of the open-air roof is always delightful no matter what time of year, since they can unroll a cover if it rains. Staff courteous and efficient, food simply fabulous. Often uncrowded later in evening. Very romantic at night!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paseo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Paseo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paseo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.