We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Shell - CLOSED

Cafe Shell
1112 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2713 (Formerly Barcliff & Bair)
805-965-5742
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

Read the other reviews, so went here for brunch, cute location, reasonable looking menu... Service was awful. Over an hour and a twenty minutes before food arrived. No waiter to check in on you, no bread, and no apologies. Staff could have cared less about delays...did I mention no apologies? Food was decent, but the service was so awful that we aren't ever going back. I hope this place improves because it could have been so nice.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast (haven't tried other meals)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Sit outside and enjoy the view on State Street. Service is very good and the breakfasts are always enjoyable. Good Eggs Benedict and pancakes. Cafe Shell is a great way to start the day.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Their salads were good and the service from Ricky was great. You would feel cared for in this restaurant. The owner is hands on in the service and very humble. Enjoy.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow Hill, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a wonderful suprise to find this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were going to a concert at the Lobero Theatre, so we parked at the Lobero and walked up State Street to find a place for dinner. We stopped at Cafe Shell to read their menu and heard beautiful Irish/Celtic music coming from within. We decided to have dinner there. The employees and the service was wonderful, food was wonderful, and the music was awesome. Prices were good too. We met the owner and his wife, lovely people, who told us they just became owners of this restaurant 2 months ago. We cannot wait to go back, a lovely dining experience. Hope the music stays, very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Right next door to the Museum of Art. Great service. Good food. Nice place to people watch!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Shell also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Shell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.