We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the lunch buffet or go for dinner with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flavor of India

Flavor of India
3026 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3304
805-682-6561
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Try the lunch buffet or go for dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Everything served is tasty. At buffet you can really stuff yourself. A great place for lunch or dinner. All our friends really love this place, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Good food and cheap price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I don't know if this is the best Indian restaurant in town, but was the only I've experienced and I love it! The environment it's really good, the food was delicious and we pay for what we got!
I think it's a very popular place and maybe of of the best places to enjoy Indian food in this town! I eat the curry chiken and the shrimp Kumber (this was delicious!!)

good things:
- decoration/environemt
- the staff is very helpfull
- the food was delicious
- the price

bad things:
I don't really know .. everything was very good and it's a clean restaurant... I enjoy it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and reliably satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I highly recommend the $10 lunch buffet at this restaurant. I have enjoyed it multiple times, and always come out satisfied. The buffet always consists of the same dishes - with meat and veggie options. Tasty and fresh flavors and textures. Good salad and sauces too. Waiter repeatedly brings out naan bread fresh from the oven. Easy, relaxed atmosphere too. Perfect casual dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Every time I'm in Santa Barbara, I make a point of eating at Flavor of India. Everything I've had there has been delicious. Service is great, and dishes come to the table quickly. Naturally a place this popular is sometimes crowded, but I've never had to wait for more than a few minutes. There are a couple of Indian restaurants in the downtown area, but I just never got around to trying them. I always go back to Flavor of India.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I have been to almost all the Indian establishments in Santa Barbara and this is at the top.

Last night we sat down about 7pm, enjoyed a mug of warm Chai and ate chicken tiki masala, spinach/cheese and some whole wheat nan.

They will ask how hot you want it and we said medium + which they fulfilled and it was just right.

Quick wait staff filling drinks and taking away empty plates.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavor of India also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Flavor of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flavor of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.