We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese restaurant in Santa Barbara!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arigato Sushi

Arigato Sushi
1225 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2607
805-965-6074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in Santa Barbara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Arigato, as you can see from the reviews here, is definitely the best Japanese restaurant in Santa Barbara! The owner has consistently offered the highest quality fish and the most original plates for any one's palate. Their selection of sakes is amazing! Their sushi chefs are warm and friendly and will offer you the best experience - alone or with a friend! I only eat at the sushi bar because I like to see the action. The atmosphere can be a bit hectic for some. If it is, go during the week. The place is a hot spot for locals and travelers alike!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    75
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic sushi at amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had an amazing meal here.... every dish was delicious - the rock'n rolls were our favourite but closely followed by all the other dishes. Pretty much faultless! Add to that amazing value for money - if you like sushi then we can't recommend this restaurant enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place, busy and great atmosphere :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We went there in group of 3 couples, lovely food and service, very busy, not cheap but delicious food, will definitely go back there again :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a great spot, both in terms of food and atmosphere so I would highly recommend it.

We ate here as part of a trip taking in San Francisco, Napa Valley, Santa Barbara and LA. In advance we phoned but were slightly put off when they wouldn't accept bookings so we ended up booking Bouchon.

However that evening walking down past Arigato Sushi we changed our minds and decided to cancel bouchon and wait for a table - we were not disappointed.

My husband isn't a sushi fan and some of the reviews led us to initially believe the menu is predominatly sushi based which it isn't. I had a fabulous hand made sushi roll and every thing else (non sushi) we ordered was really tasty - nothing was disappointing. The servers were jovial, friendly and efficient

I would highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very good sushi. I had salmon and a couple rolls. The host was so attentive and the service really stellar!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arigato Sushi also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Arigato Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arigato Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.