We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toma Restaurant and Bar

Toma Restaurant and Bar
324 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA
(805) 962-0777
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Toma Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 463 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Italian, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
st. john, indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed in Santa Barbara New Year's week...Toma is an awesome gem! The food is outstanding! I am not an expert on pasta, but their pasta is amazingly fresh! My husband and I had two meals in the four days we were in Santa Barbara, and everything was exceptional! Warm atmosphere and a very gracious owner make this a place not to be missed! Make sure you make a reservation!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    111
    36
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The way a restaurant should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Sunday night after 7:00pm and the place was full but they reserved a spot for us at the bar. The host and staff were so nice and friendly all night we never got the feeling they were JUST doing their jobs. They were actually having fun with the customers while doing their jobs. They bake their own bread which is addictive. Our meals came out together and both were hot. This seems to be an issue with other places but not here. I had the lasagna and my wife had the Guanicale pizza. The flavors were perfectly balanced for each dish. The portions were very good and the prices were reasonable. We are only in town for two nights and will be eating here again. Nice job Toma!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Its high rating is well deserved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We've taken a short road trip with some friends, and our first stopover is Santa Barbara. Lovely town. The four of us went to Toma for dinner last night (Wednesday). Very good food with a good wine (local Pinot Noir) recommended by our waiter.
Between us we had 4 different salads to start, followed by squid ink pasta with clams, butternut squash ravioli, lasagne and steamed clams (hold the chorizo). All the dishes were excellent. The boss said that the lasagne was one of the best he'd ever tasted. Everything (including the bread) was clearly home made. Service good. Not cheap, but worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fanttastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Food, service and ambiance are incredible. Best in SB. And you can actually hear everyone at the table without yelling or having to hear everyone else's life story sitting around you. Bravo for Toma's

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stopped in with a friend for dinner and was totally pleased with everything. We had to sit at the bar because the dining room was full and we didn't make a reservation. The bartender was very nice and accommodating as was everyone who worked here. They all helped each other and although that's what's supposed to happen, it seldom does. It was nice to see. I had the cioppino and it was loaded with seafood. My friend had the wild salmon which was delicious. It's a very mild salmon that they feature, not that oily. The tuna cones as an app were great as well. I would have given it 5 stars but the chocolate desert was a little strange: kind of spongy cake. Not bad, just strange. I definitely recommend this little gem that was mostly full of locals from what I could tell. It's been busy since it opened so make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toma Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Toma Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toma Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.