We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toma Restaurant and Bar

Toma Restaurant and Bar
324 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA
(805) 962-0777
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Toma Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Italian, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely dinner at Toma. All staff is very kind and meals were served promptly. Just know that the bar area is very small and there is no other place to wait, but outside. We had a reservation and still had to wait for about 15 min. which was annoying. Why have a reservation if you have to wait? The manager suggested we wait in the bar, where there were no seats available, so we stood amidst the bustle and hustle of staff trying to serve meals in a too-crowded room. Very awkward. Should not be so many tables. However, the meal was very, very good, the manager gave me glass of wine, on the house, for our wait, and I will definitely go again, taking more patience with me next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    88
    30
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great experience in Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We read reviews and decided to choose for a birthday celebration. We made reservation in advance for a table at the window. When we arrived at appointed time, all window tables were taken and we were shown to table in the back corner. When we mentioned our specific reservation, the owner Tom, immediately offered to make it right. That was great. We waited at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine. The bartender poured a taste, but never came back to pour more. We just carried the bottle to the table, when ready. We ordered squash blossoms filled with goat cheese and citrus dressing. Very interesting. We enjoyed them. Then short ribs with spinach & mashed potatoes, cioppino. Very good. The best dessert...strawberry mousse inside phyllo dough, pistachio and strawberries. Delicious finish. Tom, the owner, was fantastic. Server, bringing food,was excellent. Nice white tablecloths and napkins. Good music, fresh flowers, candles. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

jerry the bartender a wealth of knowledge with a great sense of humour, will have a chat, but not in your face.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I were thrilled with our meals at Toma. Food was outstanding! Everything we ordered was well prepared and exceeded our expectations. Even ordinary items like ravioli were prepared exceptionally well with sauce that was extraordinary. Service, food, and wine were all good. Definitely include this one when visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small, but worth a wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was lucky on a Monday night and snagged the last seat at the bar. Service was prompt, attentive but not intrusive. The soup of the night was a corn chowder, was closer to creamed corn, with a hint of line and a nice avocado garnish. Followed by a grilled romaine salad that had just the right amount of char on the romaine and an excellent lite tomato[based dressing. The best tables are some 2-tops right in the front windows looking out at the Bay. A good, well balanced wine list, but a little short on wines-by-the-glass selections

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toma Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Toma Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toma Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.