We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toma Restaurant and Bar

Toma Restaurant and Bar
324 W. Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA
(805) 962-0777
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Toma Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 449 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Italian, Californian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a treat! We arrived early on a summer Sunday evening, and to my surprise they were managed to fit us in--three adults and two 3-year olds. The staff were incredibly good with the twins, supplying a basket of kid activity items that entertained both adults and kids.

And the food! Oh my. Creative and delicious. I had the chevre-stuffed squash blossoms as a dessert, and the gnocchi for the main course. Both were very tasty, and nice sized portions.

The view across the street to the harbor was an added pleasure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    88
    30
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I agree with all the five dot reviews. We had a table for four. Service and food were all excellent. Everyone was happy. Best to have a reservation. They were full even in mid week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have eaten at every nice restaurant in town and consider ourselves 'foodies.' We had high hopes for Tomas, but did not expect everything to be at a near flawless level. The service was impeccable, staff friendly and accommodating, and the food was superb. We enjoyed the burrata appetizer and the incredible homemade bread for starters. The busboy filled our bread tray and waters with zeal as we moved into our two entrées, ravioli and the chicken w/ mushroom risotto. These entrées were large portions and we devoured the dishes. Both were cooked to perfection with dazzling flavor and freshness. We enjoyed the wonderful fresh strawberry tart with mouse for dessert – delicious. Overall, the atmosphere, food and service left us inspired that restaurants still go out of their way to provide over the top experience with a humble attitude and fair price point.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Top Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Dined here and what a great restaurant. Deserves the excellent reviews it's been getting. Food, ambience and service tops, hence it's very busy and without a booking you could be in for a long wait. Will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Olivos, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything was AVERAGE at this restaurant.
Average service, wine, menu.
Cramped tables.
But everything was Ok. Not good ... not bad
Wouldn't go back tho. ....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toma Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Toma Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toma Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.