We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUMMM Not the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sambo's Restaurant

Sambo's Restaurant
216 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3506
805-965-3269
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 449 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“HUMMM Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ok so I may be as a New Yorker I am use to the myriad of diners and breakfast places in the city but this diner is definitely was not good. The food basic and tasteless. Not a wide choice and very little Californian fare - fresh fruits etc. The pancakes where dry and the eggs were not good. The bread was def of the wonderbread variety and pretty anemic even when toasted.

The staff though were very polite very pleasant and the service was efficient and timely.

No as for the name which is shocking to say the least when you first see it - I soon discovered that it is named after it's original owners Sam and Bo.... tho calling it Sam & Bo's may have been a better choice and more PR. The only place that tells you this is a small plaque by the door, they may want to put something more prominent though given the mostly white clientele it didn't seem to bother them????

Its the only place on the beach front so I guess that is why it is popular and there is often a wait at the door - they do give you coffee and water while you wait which is a nice touch. But the food was really nothing special - low on taste and bad presentation. I wouldn't classify this as a restaurant -- it is a diner and an average diner at that. And as far as diner food it is definitely not worth a visit unless you are really hungry

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I am so sorry that you feel that way about Sambos. We strive to be better than just an average diner. We use fresh ingredients and cook things fresh everyday. It is our goal to serve great food with extraordinary service. I will try to make it more clear about the origins of my grandfather and his partners name. During the time they started the business over 50 years ago the story book was very popular about an Indian child that ate pancakes. If you have any other questions or comments feel free to contact me at the restaurant.
Chad, Grandson of the original owner Sam Battistone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    147
    59
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast here if you are hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at the hotel next door which included continental breakfast so we were not really looking for a breakfast venue. A week later we stayed elsewhere in Santa Barbara so decided to try Sambo's. Very friendly and good service with large portions

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your post. We want to make sure people get enough to eat when you dine with us here at Sambos. We hope to see you again soon.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Husband and I went for a late breakfast and sat in the dining room next to a window. We had views of the beach and marina, and enjoyed our delicious breakfasts! The prices are excellent and match the delicious food perfectly. There is usually a wait during breakfast time but they make it totally worth your while by usually seating faster then the wait time they quote and by offering complimentary coffee and water while you wait to be seated. Another plus were the hot and fresh mimi muffins that were served to our table gratis as we sat down. This is a must eat if you are in the area. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and detail post. We hope to see you back again soon.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was able to eat out on the patio for a brunch meal. I had chicken strips and fries. Not a gourmet meal, but it was good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your post. We hope you are enjoying your vacation.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good, but crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

given the crowd waiting, i expected to be blown away. it was good, you won't be disappointed, but i didn't think it was amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Jim, Thank you for your post. If you visit again please let us know what we could do to make your experience amazing.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sambo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sambo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.