We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! The original Sambo's Pancake house.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sambo's Restaurant

Sambo's Restaurant
216 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3506
805-965-3269
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 449 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow! The original Sambo's Pancake house.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the original Sambo's Pancake restaurant right across from the Santa Barbara beach and pier. Great little find and the pancakes were super. Wait staff were all very efficient, and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We glad you had a chance to stop by. My Grandfather opened the restaurant over 50 years ago, we are proud to still have it in the family.
Chad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    148
    59
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Breakfast is Awsome especially the chocolate chip muffins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Sambos is a great spot for breakfast by the ocean in downtown Santa Barbara. Close to hotels and downtown. I am a local and this is one of my favorite places to have breakfast. Try it out for yourself you will live it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast and staff. Any reason why only 3 stars?
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beach view diner across from SB's west beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good spot for breakfast when walking the beachfront. Decent sized breakfasts , and omlettes are very tasty! Pleasasnt staff and reasonable prices.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your post.
Chad, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Santa Barbara”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

While the food was good, it seemed overpriced. My son ordered an omelette with ham, cheese, bacon, onions and sour cream and it was $16.00. It is a popular place place so be prepared to wait especially if you have a party of more than 4. I am not sure if they were staffed well enough as our service was slow and not correct. They also made two overcharge mistakes on our order that they had to correct.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Phil,
Thank you for your post. I am sorry that you felt our menu was over priced. The Ham and Cheese omelette is $10.20 and side of sour cream would be extra. The server must have made a mistake in ringing up something. I would be happy to refund any over charges we may have done. I also will talk to the staff about service. Can you let me know where and what time you ate so I can talk to that staff member to see if they need more training. It is our goal to provided the best food and service possible. We hope to see you back again soon.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It was close to my hotel so I went ther for breakfast twice. The first time I took the Santa Barbara ommelett and it tastes absolutely great. (remember that one!). The day after that I ate the Denver ommelett, wich was good as wel, but couldn't reach the Santa Barbara.

The staff is very welcoming and makes you feel very comfy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad S, Owner at Sambo's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your post. I had the SB Omelet today also, it was great.
Chad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sambo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sambo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.