We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Super Rica Taqueria - A Must Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Super-Rica Taqueria

La Super-Rica Taqueria
622 N Milpas St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3032
805-963-4940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 438 restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“La Super Rica Taqueria - A Must Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I really wanted to try the 2 competing taquerias so we headed to La Super Rica Taqueria for a snack and split an order of the Super Rica Especial, a mix of marinated and grilled pork and a roasted chile pasilla stuffed with melted cheese. The next day we tried Lily's Tacos which served much more simple tacos and had this great bar with salsa options and cilantro mixes. I would recommend ordering the mix of onions and peppers to add to the tacos. Both taquerias had decent lines and were mouth-wateringly good. The homemade tortillas is what really makes both spots so memorable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    137
    64
    39
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, LOW price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very authentic taqueria. The prices were amazing and they were quick. A must eat when you go to Santa Barbara!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orvieto, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mexican food....real Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When I have food dreams it most often about the dream worthy food at la super rica. I hesitate to add to the already long lunch time line but after years of dining here I must say its my among my favorite restaurants if not the favorite. Three decades ago as Santa Barbara residents we discovered the simple, and tasty fare of this fine little taqueria. Not much has changed in those years. And thankfully so. Isadoro still takes the order at the window and the kitchen crew all look familiar too. The tortillas are still made by hand with a little manual press, right there as you put in your order. The cooking is true to tradition and honest. The food is so fresh and the flavors so excellent that on more than one occasion we have made a special detour back to Santa Barbara just to eat there. Our last visit we ate there twice during the three day stay and would have gone a third time if we had stayed another day. la super rica only takes cash... but the two of us ate too much and spent under thirty bucks with beers to boot. We often share our plates around with whoever we are with for the the best assortment of things. They are closed wednesdays. The amazing loyalty of their customers is evident as the line stretches out with everyone willing to wait for the best Mexican food in the States. I can't say enough how worth the wait is...only this... My "last meal" choice would be from super rica.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beware the lemmings!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Beware the lemmings who line up here for no good reason other than to be seen and overpay for some less than authentic food. If you're in the mood for some first rate authentic food go down the street to either Los Agaves or La Colmena!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Long, long lines, excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is of our favorite stops when we travel through Dsnta Barbara. The food is delicious. However, due to its popularly the wait time can be 45 minutes in line if you arrive after 11:30 a.m. Several times we have given up! It's a no frills place, and not a typical Mexican restaurant - no chips, but great food. Love the guacamole, and the daily specials are amazing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Super-Rica Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to La Super-Rica Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Super-Rica Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.