We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Super-Rica Taqueria

La Super-Rica Taqueria
622 N Milpas St, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3032
805-963-4940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 436 restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been eating at this restaurant for years. All of our out of town guests want to go here. The food is fresh and tasty. Their hand made tortillas are delicious. My personal favorite is the number 8, with chicken, onions, mushrooms and peppers grilled and served with 3 tortillas. My husband always orders the Especial with a side of guacamole. We go at off hours to avoid the lines, and find the food consistently good. The owner is a great guy. We highly recommend La Super Rica!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    137
    64
    39
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encino
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Love...this...place. When I moved to Santa Barbara, my brother told me this was the true gem for Mexican food in the area. He hyped it up to the point that my expectations were pretty darn high by the time I would enjoy my first bite. I'll admit- my first reaction was that it was just OK. Now, fast forward two years later...I go there all the time! The reason? Trust me, it's not due to any lack of Mexican restaurant choices in Santa Barbara- as there are TONS. I go & go & go because it's just absolutely delicious. The place won me over big time. My favorite is the chicken w/veggies plate (comes with 3 home-made tortillas). Their quesadillas are excellent; the service with a smile is welcoming; prices are reasonable; and the salsas outstanding. Yummy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Solid Mexican fare at affordable prices, but over-hyped.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've been to this place on 3 or 4 occasions over the few years. Overall, I like the food but don't feel it or the place lives up to the hype. I know it's always crowded with people lined up down the block at times, but I must confess I don't see why. The food is fresh, homemade and tasty, but I've had better in Santa Barbara, Ventura and even Camarillo. Not a bad choice if you are on your way to the SB Bowl I suppose, but personally I would not go out of my way to find the place, which by the way is not so easy if you are just driving around the area without your GPS. It's a simple looking building without much in the way of signage, which you'd miss entirely if not for the people waiting outside. I guess I'll have to try it again one of these days.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fresh and good, but that's it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Heard many great things about this place. It's a little shack of a place, "real" mexican food. The food is definately made fresh and to order, and it's good. But I didn't find it so great I would recommend anyone go out of their way to eat there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“La Super-Rica, La Super Delish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Oh YES! A definitely NOT-TO-MISS Santa Barbara dining establishment. Got to go! Here's a few reasons why:

- Homemade Tortillas
- Homemade Tamales- (LOVE the vegetarian ones!)
- Homemade Guacamole served in homemade Tortillas
- Reasonably priced
- Generous with ice! Gave us two big cups full!
- Easy to find location
- Patio dining
- Julia Child ate here & if's good enough for Julia, its good enough for ME!

Perhaps people look at it as a 'tourist trap' but who cares?! The food is good, authentic and cheap- whats NOT to like about that? Especially in Santa Barbara!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Super-Rica Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to La Super-Rica Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Super-Rica Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.