We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Scenic Drive

Santa Barbara Scenic Drive
92260, Santa Barbara, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 Attractions in Santa Barbara
Type: Scenic Drives, Outdoors
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unmissable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went down this many times as we never tired of it. It's a lovley drive and you can see how the rich and famous live as you pass mansion after mansion on Cliff Drive. Stop at the top and view the ocean - it's stunning! Whale watchers come here to see the migration of the humpbacks. It's a good spot from which to do so and it's nice to chat with locals there. It also passes through a residential golf course - very attractive too. Good to do just for a drive in scenic surroundings with no place to go in particular.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    33
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perhaps better another time of year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The coastline is pretty, but I suspect the drive into the mountains would be much more scenic another time of year. In the summer everything is simply dry and brown.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beach view Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is by far one of the most spectacular drives along the coast near a beach town like Santa Barbara. Volly ball on the sand, Beautiful Palm trees lining the sand, beautiful view of the pier and the vendors that line the promenade. Very nice hotels and inns... Great restaurants and awesome Marinas.. Spectacular Santa Barbara! Im just 30 minutres away from my hometown of Ojai. My favorite hang is Brophy Bros. in the marina. Love the fish there!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“beautiful drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

we actually enjoyed our 5hr. drive down from San Jose and all around the area was so delightful!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA, USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent view from some of the points.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We went on the west (or north bound) towards the cliff drive and stopped at a view point. Nestled in the canyon were beautiful homes and endless view of the ocean with palms rising before it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Scenic Drive also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Scenic Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.