We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobero Theatre

Lobero Theatre
33 East Canon Perdido Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
805-963-0761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 58 Attractions in Santa Barbara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lobero is California's oldest, continuously operating theatre. Originally founded in 1873 and rebuilt in 1924, it is recognized as one of Santa Barbara's architectural jewels and a State and City landmark.It is the home stage to most of the major performing arts groups in Santa Barbara including Opera Santa Barbara, State Street Ballet, Santa Barbara Chamber Orchestra, Speaking of Stories, Sings Like Hell, CAMA’s Masterseries, Santa Barbara Youth Symphony, Flamenco Arts Festival, Santa Barbara Theatre, Music Academy of the West, and many others.In addition to operating the venue for the community's use, the Lobero Theatre Foundation presents 20 Lobero LIVE performances each season to enhance the performing arts environment in Santa Barbara. The Lobero Live series brings touring artists that enrich the cultural offerings available, focusing on genres which are most suitable for the hall’s intimacy and acoustics, including jazz, blues, bluegrass and folk. The Lobero Theatre has recently been named one of the best jazz venues in the world by leading jazz magazine, DownBeat.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Vibrant venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Lobero Theatre is one of the cultural centers of the city of Santa Barbara with a wide range of performances in many different styles of music. We've attended several "Sings Like Hell" performances and have fallen in love with many new artists and music in genres we never would have expected to love. And we saw K.D.Lang here, whose phenomenal voice was set off to perfection by the Lobero's wonderful acoustics.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ojai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great little theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a small venue, perfect for concerts and easy to access. I saw both Randy Newman and Brian Wilson her and it was the ideal place to really appreciate their music.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A charming old theatre with amazing class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have attended several events at the historic Lobero over the years. I have seen the Capitol Steps, Ram Das, Box Tales (performing Om, a retelling of the Ramayana), Cirque Eloise, and many other diverse acts. I'm not sure how they keep getting such quality acts in this downtrodden economy, but I never fail to be pleasantly surprised at how much fun I have watching them. It's a fairly roomy theatre, and the seats are old, but still cozy. Sound carries very well in the building. The Lobero staff should be considered champions of the Arts. It's a theatre that is largely kept alive by donations from the very generous old money patrons of Santa Barbara, so you always get a strong communal feeling when you watch a show there. Go Lobero!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice theatre with great performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Lots of great performances come to the Lobero. Unlike the Arlington and the Granada, this is a smaller theatre, seating around 400 or maybe 600 people. It feels more intimate, and even if you are sitting in the rear, you are not that far from the stage. Nice place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Old theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Old, romantic theatre for plays, concerts. One of the oldest theaters in Santa Barbara.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobero Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Lobero Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobero Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.