We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste Santa Barbara County without a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Winery

Santa Barbara Winery
202 Anacapa Street, Santa Barbara, CA
805-963-3633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 148 things to do in Santa Barbara
Activities: Wine tasting
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Taste Santa Barbara County without a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent the afternoon walking around the "Funk Zone" in Santa Barbara - adjacent to railroad tracks, just east of State Street and found many wineries/tasting rooms for excellent wineries within a 3 block area. If you are tight on time and want to taste some great local wines without driving all over the county (and risking an accident), it is well worth spending part of an afternoon walking between locations for tastings and snacks. Some also feature live music and food trucks if they don't serve any snacks. Most close by 7pm so it is definitely a daytime activity.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Desert wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great girl served us - friendly, knowledgable and interested in our tastes. Really nice wines but loved the Desert wine. Sorry I didn't buy one of their quality tee-shirts. Got the wine glasses home safely though!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great couple of hours wine tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were here in late April...off a ship doing a west coast cruise. We wanted to do some wine tasting...but did not have the time to go all the way to the winerys in the Santa Ynez Valley...so we decided to go to the tasting room of the oldest winery in Santa Barbara.

Did we make the right decision! Yes!!! It was an easy walk from where we were dropped off after tendering in from the ship...just several blocks off lower State Street.

It was $10.00 for a tasting...and we were given 8 wines...with a few "extras" thrown in!! The young lady who served us was very knowledgable and pleasant...we talked about everything from "soup to nuts" while we were tasting.

The venue also has an outdoor area...where you can take your wine to taste if you so wish...you are also allowed to bring your own food/snacks etc. into that area, at the front of the tasting room.

We were there about 1.5 hours and enjoyed every minute...a perfect spot to learn more about SB wines, the region etc....plus enjoy good wines!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I'm a fan!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here thanks to a certificate from the Upham. We had 6 free tastings. The girl knew her wine! She was so good that the hubby bought a bottle of wine. Great service and super friendly staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great staff, open early and great wines. What more do you need. The staff can answer any questions you have. On weekend afternoons they have olive oil tastings as well. This place does get busy in the afternoon on weekends but they all have this problem. It just means they're popular and that means they're doing something right.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Winery also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.