We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic hotel, right across the street from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Urban Wine Tasting
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Grass Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel, right across the street from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed on a Monday night towards the back of the building and the hotel was not full, so our room was quiet. Except for the birds. Oh my gosh, the birds.
If you check in while it's still light out, grab one of their complementary beach cruiser bikes and hit the bike path that runs along the beach. That was the highlight of our stay.
The room was charming. It's an old hotel, but they have done a wonderful job in maintenance and decor.
You have to pay to park your vehicle. The location made up for that though.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the wonderful review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    104
    52
    28
    28
See reviews for
60
122
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

quaint little hotel right on the waterfront and only a short walk to bars/restaurants/shops.
Don't expect high end luxury but very clean with all the usual hotel amenities. Our room was on the ground floor and it was very noisy as people walked past, keep your curtains closed otherwise they can see straight into your bedroom. Comfortable beds and adequate bathroom facilities. Reasonable price for Santa Barbara and you get what you pay for. Would stay here again

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the kind review and we hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel. Close to all beach activity and only a tram ride to the main shopping district. Staff great, rooms clean and tidy. Atmosphere was laid back luxury.....L'Occitane Shampoo and Conditioner was lux.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very comfortable with a great location. LOVED the free bicycles! Great coffee and breakfast! The rooms are pretty spacious and the beds are comfortable. We walked to both piers for dinner and caught a cab right outside to go to a concert at the Santa Barbara Bowl.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have shared outdoor seating areas which are very nice. We were on ground level which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Oh, what a great location for a terrible, terrible hotel. Walls are paper thin. They'll sell you a parking package, but they'll run out of parking spots (why not just sell passes, to regulate?) Cute tiny rooms, but that metal ledge in the bathroom doorway was a doozy. The refrigerator was the loudest little thing, that was so noisy/frightening, I woke up constantly. The armoire also made strange popping noises; I actually thought maybe there was a lost rat in there, the first night. Drunk people will noisily parade through the property at all hours of the night; you'll hear them. You'll here them even when they find their rooms one floor down, and five rooms away, in their rooms as they run into things, and eventually snore. You'll hear people lost trying to get into your room. You'll hear everything.
So, stay here if you plan on being one of the drunk people, who cares not about others, or if you have about 20 small screaming children and enjoy annoying others, all while not caring about where you park your vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not have the best experience and will ensure to share the comments with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked 5 rooms for our daughter's graduation from SBCC...the hotel staff was unbelievably helpful in helping us find our way around; the lobby and outdoor areas were wonderful for congregating, visiting, and making plans. The staff thoughtfully put all of our rooms close together despite the different needs of family members. A totally wonderful experience of beach, sand, family, graduation activities. The bicycling experience was the "icing on the cake"!

Room Tip: The Ocean Kings were definitely everyone's favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

LOVE THE MILO!!! From the lovely grounds, comfy beds, incredible staff and free bike rental and free amazing breakfast, you can't go wrong. Minutes from the train,The Milo is literally across the street from the beach and between both piers for venturing out! Be sure to eat at TOMA for dinner. It is a block away and THE BEST in SB!! Ask for Tom or Gary, they are incredible and the staff and decor are top notch. Sambos is next door is good for a breakfast or lunch and Eladios down the street is also good and incredibly located. My faves at the Milo are Arlee, Matthew, Raphael and Ashlee, but all the staff members are super friendly and accommodating. Book it!!!

Room Tip: I prefer a room by the pool next to Sambos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the wonderful comments! I will ensure to recognize the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the charming landscape of our Santa Barbara beachfront hotel with endless ocean, mountain, and marina views. Come and enjoy our restful outside courtyard seating areas and scenic second story couches; or spend time in our two outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi, cabanas or 24-hour ocean front fitness center and breakfast bistro. We are conveniently located just minutes away from the Marina and Stearns Wharf allowing you to access the views that bring everyone to vacation in Santa Barbara. Shopping on State Street is just a 10-minute walk away, and getting here is even easier, as we are located only 20 minutes from the Santa Barbara Airport, and just minutes from the Amtrak station. Our Cabrillo Boulevard address truly cannot be matched when it comes to enjoying all of the lovely natural amenities and adventures that the Santa Barbara beachfront has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.