We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property & location, but tough parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Urban Wine Tasting
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great property & location, but tough parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a prime Santa Barbara location. Complimentary beach cruiser rental allowed a great afternoon of cruising the waterfront and State St. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the young woman at the front desk was terrific.

This whole area is easily impacted by local parking, and when arriving back to the property late at night, the hotel's lot was full. If you can check in early and walk or bicycle, this is likely not a problem.

Room Tip: Directly across the street from the beach, and one block to the pier. No elevator for upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Bret C,

Thank you for the great review and for the parking tip! Sounds like you know the area well and we are always happy to hear when our guests take advantage of the beach cruisers bikes. They are such a wonderful amenity for our guests and an ideal way to get around and see Santa Barbara!

Come back and see us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    93
    49
    27
    26
See reviews for
53
111
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waseca, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for a week as a couple. The hotel was perfect. Right across from the marina and beach. The workout room was great and overlooked the beach and ocean. The service was outstanding and the breakfast was well worth it! Parking on street was not a problem. Room was small, but clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Tracy P,

Thank you for the recommendation and the excellent review! We'd love to have you come back and visit us again soon.

Best,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I came to Hotel Milo this past weekend for an anniversary getaway. We arrived to a boho-modern guestroom with an ocean/pool view + balcony. I had also called in advance to get a special amenity to surprise my boyfriend and the staff at the front desk suggested a bottle of wine and note. The wine was delicious and the note was handwritten - nice touch!

The hotel room uses L'occitane bathroom amenities which was also a plus. The hotel is conveniently located just blocks away from State St. for shopping and restaurants/bars. The pool was a decent size with enough seating room, however one of the other pools was out of commission so there were a lot of children around the pool most of the day. Our only complaint is that the walls must of be thin because you can hear a most of the outside noise and noise coming from guestrooms close by. I'm not sure but I don't think they have room service. Breakfast was average. $12 service fee (each day) for wifi, 24 hr. gym, +bikes for transportation. $18 parking fee (each day).

The best part (other than the amazingly comfortable bed) was definitely the service! Anytime I called guest services/front office to request something for our room, they were always very quick and happy to help! Matthew from the front office was very helpful even personally delivering the food we ordered to us by the pool.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear EAP321,

Sweet review! Thank you for the kind words. We will be sure to share with our team and thank everyone for taking such great care of you! Looking forward to having you and your boyfriend back again soon.

Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here in the past a couple of times, but the hotel is now under new management.
The plus side - It is right across from the beach and close to the Wharf. Also only a block or so from State street, the main drag. The grounds are beautiful, the pool exceptional. It has been recently "renovated" . The desk staff are very nice and helpful.
The minus side - It is expensive for the room you get. Even though it has been renovated, it is still an old hotel (really more like a motel, only without the parking). The rooms are small and they have crowded them with furniture. There are no closets, only a small wardrobe, which take up a lot of room, and if you want to hang clothes, you have to remove an ironing board, iron, and the suitcase rack! The bathrooms are small, small - only a wall mounted sink, no place to put stuff you are using. The bathroom has a window that opens out to a walkway! There is NO AIRCONDITIONING. If you need more air, they have a fan (which was also in the wardrobe. We were there in March and it was still very warm in the room. The rooms were clean and nice (just don't look under the bed - I did, looking for a shoe, it was disgusting - thick with dust!) The breakfast for a place as expensive as this was mediocre. No waffles, no hot food (unless you asked them to warm your oatmeal.) it was basically, cereal, fruit, and breads (and a meat tray of turkey, ham and cheese).
Be careful- there is a 12.00 a day surcharge for use of the pool, workout room,, and bikes. Also, we did not have a car, but I heard the front desk person tell someone that it is 18.00 a day.
Also, be aware there are no ice machines. If you want ice, you have to take your ice bucket to the lobby and the bellman will bring it back to your room! They keep the ice machine locked up.
I think we may try another place next time - For their prices, we can stay most anywhere on the beach for close to the same price.
And, I will also mention that workmen start at around 6:30 am!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Deirdre S,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location as well as our brand new pools! We too, were excited to complete this project just in time for spring.

I am sorry that you had an issues at all with the room and closet sizes as we do have 8 different room categories and sizes with our Ocean View being the largest and would recommend this room type if you are looking for something larger. Our service fee is also inclusive of breakfast and wireless internet in addition to the amenities you listed below. I do wish we had known that you were not happy with your room prior to checking out as we would have welcomed the chance to turn your experience around. Hopefully you will come back and give us a chance to renew your faith in Hotel Milo.

Warm Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was uber clean and uber cute--a la retro 1950's. It had a mid-century feel-not because it was old and tired, but totally updated and fresh. Clean, accommodating, FREE BIKES!, continental breakfast, most comfortable bed my husband and I have ever slept in. Loved it! (We stayed 3 nights in early March.) We walked to our SEGway tour, to the winery storefronts, to the wharf, beach and to several lovely restaurants. We took our car to the Mission and La SuperRica Taqueria. You will love it--the decor was fabulous too.

Room Tip: Any room is lovely because of the beautiful grassy area, the mountains, and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Shannon1127,

You are spot on as our buildings were built between 1938 and 1956 with the mid-century feel. Our favorite part is that most of our rooms are exterior facing incorporating the lush gardens as soon as you walk out of your room.
I'm also glad you found La Super Rica - it's one of my personal favorites! Thanks again for your review and please do come back to visit us again.

Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice and affordable little hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated, toiletries are by L'Occitane, the check in was easy enough. (We arrived around noon and our room was not ready for check-in but that's expected). Parking was easy. Best of all is the location. You can walk to the pier, to the shops on State St., and of course to all the fun in the funk zone. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear AnGie247,

Thank you for your review. You nailed it that the best part is our location with proximity to the pier, shopping and the funk zone. Sounds like you know some of the best stops while in Santa Barbara and we look forward to your return visit!

Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed there for three days in early March. At first I wasn't overly impressed but then the atmosphere started to sink in and I was OK. It's not a luxurious place but its not suppose to be; just comfortable and spacious and our bed was great. We got one of the nicest, most expensive rooms and was spacious and very near the main street and therefore right across from the sandy beach and ocean.

It is walking distance to the main downtown area and to the piers where you can find restaurants and interesting shops.

They charge about $18 a night for parking but you can easily park on the street. We never had a problem. Breakfast is at 7 and they have one of the best free breakfast spreads I have seen anywhere.

I would stay there again but probably not before I stayed at some different places first.

Room Tip: Try to get one nearer the main street. Ours was a front corner suite with views and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear bgkrider,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you got a chance to truly experience Santa Barbara and our proximity to the beach by booking one of our Ocean View rooms. Please do come back and visit us again!

Warm Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the charming landscape of our Santa Barbara beachfront hotel with endless ocean, mountain, and marina views. Come and enjoy our restful outside courtyard seating areas and scenic second story couches; or spend time in our two outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi, cabanas or 24-hour ocean front fitness center and breakfast bistro. We are conveniently located just minutes away from the Marina and Stearns Wharf allowing you to access the views that bring everyone to vacation in Santa Barbara. Shopping on State Street is just a 10-minute walk away, and getting here is even easier, as we are located only 20 minutes from the Santa Barbara Airport, and just minutes from the Amtrak station. Our Cabrillo Boulevard address truly cannot be matched when it comes to enjoying all of the lovely natural amenities and adventures that the Santa Barbara beachfront has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.