We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Riverbank, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great staff, nice grounds, very good breakfast, room was VERY DARK and in need of an update. The extra charge for onsite parking was too high for the area. At $171.00(room) + $12.00(resort fee) +$18.00(parking)= $201.00 per night was not a good value. Unless there are some changes to the room and the fee schedule I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are more quiet but rooms to the front have a better view and are much lighter. Upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    43
    22
    21
See reviews for
42
98
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really can't say enough about Hotel Milo and the incredible staff. From our very first interaction at the front desk, everyone so welcoming and accommodating. We ended up needing to change rooms and the front desk staff quickly found us another room and offered to have a staff member come move all our baggage for us. Maintenance cheerfully came to our room with a portable heater since the weather was unexpectedly cold and took care of setting it up fully for us. And in the most amazing “above and beyond” act, housekeeping hand washed my daughter’s car seat after she had gotten car sick on the drive into Santa Barbara, presenting us with a completely clean seat upon check out.

We were floored every step of the way. The hotel is lovely and features rooms that have a lot of unique character. Plus the location is incredible. We had an amazing stay and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 261 has the most amazing view with a balcony and private seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Janell C,

It was a pleasure to have received your email about your stay with us. Our team truly appreciated hearing how much your visit meant and that they were able to be a part of such a special time. It's always a pleasure to hear how we can improve, but it's equally important to celebrate when we were able to offer such an experience for our guests and I really appreciate you reaching out to share yours.

I do hope you will be in touch when you are ready to return to Santa Barbara as we look forward to welcoming you and your family back!

All the best,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one Sunday night. Had a room facing the water so being right on Cabrillo Blvd. it was not as quiet as it would have been away from the street. Room was nice and comfortable and had a small square adjoining room with a sofa and a full length mirror, period..We think it's for younger couples. The staff was not only nice but we left my wife's coat behind, called the hotel right away from home, and not only did they have it but fed ex'd it to us the next day at NO CHARGE! IMAGINE! The breakfast was better and more extensive than described. The staff was efficient and very, very nice. We'd certainly stay again.

Room Tip: It's hard not to get an ocean view room when one is available but you do sacrifice some quiet fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Sloyakman,

I'm glad you had such a nice time! Our Ocean View rooms facing the water are definitely our best rooms, but we do have other Garden View rooms that are tucked away in quieter corners of the hotel if that's of preference. I'm also grateful to the staff for taking such great care of your wife's coat and hope you'll both be back to visit us again. Thank you again for sharing about your stay.

Warm Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Conveniently located across the street from the beach, a block from State Street so easy walking to the fun spots and dining. It's a clean place, our room was a king and an attached smaller room with a nice sofa sleeper. They include a good breakfast and use of bicycles. As long as you don't expect a lot of room you will have a good experience.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Mark Z,

Glad you were able to take full advantage of our location, breakfast and bikes! We couldn't agree more that the location is all too convenient to the beach as well as State Street and that's great you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us again and don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Thanks again,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maringa, PR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice location, in front of the beach. It's kind a "historical" hotel, but reformed and very modern. Rooms are really big, with good wi-fi internet and LCD TV. King bed is really comfortable. Bathroom big too. L'Occitane products in bathroom is really pleasant. All very clean. Hotel staff very nice all the time. Made a bicycle tour with their bikes. Very good tour. Parking is easy. I would definitely stay in this hotel one more time.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Andrey B,

It sounds like you truly enjoyed all of the amenities of the hotel! Thank you so much for sharing about your stay.

You may be interested in more of the history behind our name of Hotel Milo. Milo Potter was the original hotelier of Hotel Potter which used to sit on Burton Circle on Mason street in the late 1800's. In 1903 there was an unfortunate fire that burned down the hotel, however, Santa Barbara was really founded on the history of Hotel Potter and the community prevailed. The grand entrance to what was once Hotel Potter is now called Ambassador Park which is next to Hotel Milo.

Next time you are back we'd love to show you all of these fun historical stories throughout the property!

Best,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You would think from the actual things that happened I would have given this place maybe 3 stars at the most, but because the staff was so wonderful, they get all the stars.

Our first night there my friends who were sleeping on the other bed discovered that the bed literally tilted to one side making it hard to stay on the bed. Funny, but not comfortable, the staff immediately moved us to another room the next morning. Even better room, unfortunatly that night we had a group of partiers that we didn't "disturb" until 2 a.m. when the dancing above us was getting a little out of control. The staff again went and handled it very well and it was taken care of so that the rest of our stay was quite pleasant.

Lovely morning breakfast, just right when you think you are putting on a bathing suit shortly. The best part was the bikes. The hotel supplies bikes to their guests, we used them to travel up and down the Santa Barbara coast and never had need for a vehicle at all.

Room Tip: Tell the staff why you are visiting and I am sure they will put you in the area that works best for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Lora C,

Thank you for sharing how wonderful the staff was during your stay. While we definitely aim for a wonderful experience from the beginning for each of our guests, it's the opportunities that truly give hospitality professionals an opportunity to shine. It's much more difficult to recover from an issue and I am so happy to hear that the staff were able to rise to the occasion and turn around your experience with us.

I do hope you will come back to visit us in the future and we look forward to finding you a comfortable and quiet room.

All the best,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. It is a short walk to all the shops/restaurants which did not bother us because we preferred to be right on the beach. We had booked a room that was "ocean view" and at first they tried to give us a room the had a view of a giant tree only. After going back to the office and waiting in line they finally gave us a new room. The rooms are smaller but really nicely decorated and cozy. My biggest complaint is that there was so much noise. There was a baby a couple rooms down and we heard it all night. Even neighbors who were quiet we heard everything they did. The breakfast is delicious and has a great selection. There is a lot of parking but it is very scattered and expensive. Overall we really liked the look of the hotel just wish it was quieter but nothing beats walking right out, crossing the street and being at the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jordan B,

It's always great to hear when our guests are able to enjoy our location which is by far the best part of Hotel Milo. I am sorry to hear you experienced a noisy neighbor and would like to help ensure you have a better experience during your next visit if you want to reach out directly for me to assist with your booking. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the charming landscape of our Santa Barbara beachfront hotel with endless ocean, mountain, and marina views. Come and enjoy our restful outside courtyard seating areas and scenic second story couches; or spend time in our two outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi, cabanas or 24-hour ocean front fitness center and breakfast bistro. We are conveniently located just minutes away from the Marina and Stearns Wharf allowing you to access the views that bring everyone to vacation in Santa Barbara. Shopping on State Street is just a 10-minute walk away, and getting here is even easier, as we are located only 20 minutes from the Santa Barbara Airport, and just minutes from the Amtrak station. Our Cabrillo Boulevard address truly cannot be matched when it comes to enjoying all of the lovely natural amenities and adventures that the Santa Barbara beachfront has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.