We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but note quite.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK, but note quite.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Took a last minute spontaneous trip to Santa Barbara. I thought I got a good deal on Expedia.com till I arrived there. The parking was extra $18, plus $12 mandatory resort fee: still have no clue why that price is billed for breakfast and the other facilities in the hotel. Why don't they simply charge everything from the beginning? Not quite happy with such business model.

Plus, I've never seen a hotel which offers so many booze, wine, gadgets, nuts, and water for sale in your room. You literally have a small convenience/liquor store next to your bed. This might be fantastic if you are stuck in the middle of nowhere hotel during winter snow storm. But, in Santa Barbara...right next to Ocean?

Rooms are a bit out dated, but they have certain boutique hotel feeling. Overall it's a decent place, but I am not quite sure whether I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    40
    22
    19
See reviews for
39
91
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are frequent travelers to Santa Barbara, but hadn't stayed at this hotel for years.
We made last minute reservations and when we arrived and were reminiscing about 'old times', they offered to up-grade our room. They put us in the best room in the hotel -ocean view and gave up a goodie bag with 2 tee shirts, 2 coffee mugs and more.
A bonus was the excellent continental breakfast with fresh fruit and delicious baked goods.
What a treat. I'll recommend them to all my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is on the waterfront near Stearns Wharf and an easy walk to the yacht basin and the Maritime Museum. Several restaurants are nearby and a small grocery store, Harbor Market, is near the museum. Our room, a standard ocean view, was a bit small, but entirely adequate. We didn't spend much time in our room. Bed was comfortable; the staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast, included in the price, was ample with lots of choices, plenty of protein available, lots of fresh fruit and wonderful fresh bakery products. A nice walk up State Street puts the shopping area easily within reach as well.

Room Tip: Our room was in front, next to the street. There is auto noise during the day, but the street is as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I found this hotel online so wasn't sure what to expect. It is located on the beach with great scenery and close to everything. The staff was professional and very helpful. The breakfast was great, just would've appreciated scrambled eggs!! I would definitely return. The rooms were roomy and clean. I recommend anyone to stay at Hotel Milo!!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this room on Hotwire because it was a good price. I got to my room and opened the door to be greeted by an incredible small room. It appears to be 10 X 12. The bed takes 70% of the space. It feels less like a beach side resort and more like a small cell. I guess boutique hotel means incredibly small and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tarquinator,

I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than expected. We do have 8 different room categories offering different room sizes and variations up to 300 square feet. I would highly recommend booking a Deluxe or Ocean View for a larger room and would be happy to assist you with a future booking if you'd like to contact me directly to ensure you have a room more to your liking. Please don't hesitate to reach out in the future and I do hope you will come back and visit us to take advantage of our location in an Ocean View room.

Best,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunne, Värmlands Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel with modernized and comfy rooms. Heated pool and hot tub, good breakfast. Perfect location by the pier and just 10 minutes walk to downtown Santa Barbara. A little expensive, but most hotels are in SB.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Asawik,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us in Santa Barbara! We couldn't agree more that Hotel Milo offers the perfect location by the pier and near State Street. Please come see us again!

Best,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a special price offer so decided to try this hotel/motel. It has been redecorated and appears very clean and has comfortable beds, however, these are older motel units. We upgraded to an oceanview room and wouldn't again for the extra money because the window with the view is right next to the walkway on the second floor. Therefore when you leave the draperies open to see the ocean, people can walk by your room and look in. They do have some nice outdoor space with chairs and couches. There was no complimentary cocktail hour but they did offer an extended continental breakfast. Parking was $18. a night with your other option to park on the street. Did not see any central air units but there is a ceiling fan and a heater in the small closet. Be sure to bring your own water and snacks as the room prices are high (a small water is $5.00).

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Hennipenny,

Thank you for giving us a try and I'm sorry we didn't meet all of your expectations. You are correct that we are a collection of hotels, that were renovated in 2007 to become Hotel Milo (formerly Hotel Oceana). We offer 6 different buildings over 2.5 acres for a variety of room types, views and layouts. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if you are in need of an Ocean View without the outdoor seating space and more privacy, as we can definitely accommodate if we know what would offer a more ideal stay for you in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the charming landscape of our Santa Barbara beachfront hotel with endless ocean, mountain, and marina views. Come and enjoy our restful outside courtyard seating areas and scenic second story couches; or spend time in our two outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi, cabanas or 24-hour ocean front fitness center and breakfast bistro. We are conveniently located just minutes away from the Marina and Stearns Wharf allowing you to access the views that bring everyone to vacation in Santa Barbara. Shopping on State Street is just a 10-minute walk away, and getting here is even easier, as we are located only 20 minutes from the Santa Barbara Airport, and just minutes from the Amtrak station. Our Cabrillo Boulevard address truly cannot be matched when it comes to enjoying all of the lovely natural amenities and adventures that the Santa Barbara beachfront has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.