We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Milo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Neptune, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A perfect little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The view from this hotel was amazing. They upgraded me to the best room in the hotel. (room 238). The room had awesome double doors that opened up to great ocean view of Santa Barbara. No Air conditioning could be a draw back if you stayed during the hot months. The weather was perfect and wasn't a problem for me. I only stayed one night as i was driving up the PCH. If you want a nice quiet boutique hotel in Santa Barbara stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for 238 if you want the best room in the hotel. I waited past the 4pm check in time but it was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    53
    24
    19
    15
See reviews for
30
62
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I give the location of this place 5 stars- right on the main beach street, right near State Street which is the main drag in downtown S.B. and it's free breakfast was very good. They provide free beach cruisers and have very friendly service and it's clean, a large, typical S.B. spanish style property and the room was very clean.

The reason I give this 3 stars is that we paid $465/night for this place. It's a motel room at best but without the orange and mustard yellow bedspread. The bathroom is small, tub was reglazed, sort of anyways. The biggest complaint we had was how you can hear everything- and I mean everything- above and around you in these rooms. People walking on the 2nd floor above sounded like a herd of wild horses. Someone next door opening or shutting a door would wake you up. Even someone clearing their throat sounded like someone was in the same room with you. There were some very early screaming kids right outside on the expansive lawn- which is not the fault of the hotel- but there was lots of this all weekend long by several guests.

It was a hot weekend and they do not have air conditioning, which is typical of the beach, but definitely not typical of a $465/night hotel room anywhere. They had a ceiling fan and of course, if we could have opened the window (there is only one window in the room) that could have helped. But the large window is right next to the bed and in the front of the room where all other guests and people are walking right by and can easily see the entire room. You could open the window to get some sort of air in the stifling heat but you would be waving to people walking by all day and night 3 feet away from your bed.

It's a great place to stay for a semi-budget room. I would have had much different expectations had I paid about $250/night, which is still a lot. But at that high price, I expected so much more that it basically ruined it from the moment we walked in.

Room Tip: make sure you are upstairs or you will never sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel can be a perfect anchor point for Santa Barbara tourism. There are enough attractions within walking distance you could put your car "on ice" for a couple of days and just walk around. Their free bicycles are a real gift, and add another aspect to your vacation experience. I chafe at the parking fees, but there really is no reason to support them, as the parking on the perimeter of the property works perfectly, so long as you take your car out daily.

My first visit there were glitches, but they worked them out and encouraged me back with reduced rates. I was happy to return and use my first hand knowledge with their customer service to create a perfect haven in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't end up with a room that has exposure to the guest drive in....The "traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had stayed here when it was the Oceana. Sorry to say it was not anything like the previous owners. Everything was getting run down. Even the area. Go north just a little bit even. The area was not very nice anymore either. Disappointed. Left for Carmel and thats when our trip really started.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear hoomie,

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that your experience isn't what you expected from your previous stays here at Hotel Milo. I have actually been with the hotel for the last three years and with both companies, and I assure you this change will be amazing for our little boutique style hotel. As we have only been Hotel Milo for a few months now rest assured our new company is just starting to make changes that will go a long way to make your stay more enjoyable. I hope you do come back to stay with us again and please feel free to reach out to me personally as I would love to ensure your next stay is flawless.

Sincerely,

Chelsea Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

actually about a 3.5 - We stayed here the night before a charity walk during the CA heat wave. The hotel is cute and the location couldn't be better, but lack of air conditioning made it really uncomfortable for our short night.
On the positive side, the courtyard and ocean breezes cooled the room off as long as we kept the window open. I would love to try it again when the weather is more accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear pvd90,

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are glad you liked our cute boutique hotel and were able to enjoy our great location. You were here during the absolutely hottest week of the year so I am so sorry that put a damper on your travels. We would love to have you back and experience our hotel in its normal climate! Please let me know when you come to stay next and I will ensure your next experience is perfect.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Chelsea Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice stay opposite the sea n beach walk .nice weather . Great location pnear the pier n the marina . Plenty of restaurants .coffee shops . Shopping places . Dining placess . Wind surfing . Fishing . Riding bikes .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea B, Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Abdulla A,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Santa Barbara and can't wait to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Chelsea Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and friendly staff, but tiny rooms and no A/C!! Do not stay here if it is above 80! We left our widows open until people started smoking outside, and since we have a 3-month-old we had to close them. There are ceiling fans but I don't think ours did too much. Our poor baby was up half the night (therefore, as were we) because she was so hot. Miserable.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley S, General Manager at Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Samfrog,

While I am happy to hear that the staff were so friendly and you were able to enjoy our location, I am so sorry to hear about how much the heat affected your stay. I can understand that having your little one unable to sleep wouldn't allow for much rest for you and your husband. If there is anything I can do to help turn this experience around for you I do hope you will reach out to me directly so that I can help address your concerns and invite you back for a more enjoyable experience.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milo Santa Barbara

Address: 202 W. Cabrillo Blvd., Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Hotel Oceana)
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Milo Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the charming landscape of our Santa Barbara beachfront hotel with endless ocean, mountain, and marina views. Come and enjoy our restful outside courtyard seating areas and scenic second story couches; or spend time in our two outdoor heated pools, Jacuzzi, cabanas or 24-hour ocean front fitness center and breakfast bistro. We are conveniently located just minutes away from the Marina and Stearns Wharf allowing you to access the views that bring everyone to vacation in Santa Barbara. Shopping on State Street is just a 10-minute walk away, and getting here is even easier, as we are located only 20 minutes from the Santa Barbara Airport, and just minutes from the Amtrak station. Our Cabrillo Boulevard address truly cannot be matched when it comes to enjoying all of the lovely natural amenities and adventures that the Santa Barbara beachfront has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceana Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.