We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserve in advance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotusland

Lotusland
Cold Springs Road, Montecito, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
+1 805-969-9990
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lotusland is a globally renowned 37-acre estate and botanic garden situated in the foothills of Montecito, California. It  is home to 3,200 different types of plants from around the world. The estate gardens were created by Madame Ganna Walska, who owned the property from 1941 until her death in 1984. The fascinating life and career of Madame Ganna Walska culminated with 43 years of designing unusual display gardens with exotic plants. In her writings she described herself as "an enemy of the average" - truly a woman of unique accomplishments, philosophies and imagination. Lotusland  is home to several extraordinary collections including rare cycads, cacti, palms and euphorbias. Additional gardens feature ferns, aloes, lotuses, water lilies, bromeliads and cactus garden with more than 300 species.Lotusland's  philosophies addresses the ecology of the garden, employing management practices that promote the health of the individual plants and the garden as a whole. Reservations are required to visit.
Culver City, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Reserve in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

So unique and beautiful. First time, we took the guided tour; then we joined, so we could come back and wander, unguided, for hours. Really an extraordinary adventure -- the tour guides have great stories. First-timers won't be bored! And a long walk, but utterly leisurely and relaxing. Go!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    36
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Such a treat driving into Monticeto... A fabulous property with very nice docents...

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“pretty cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

this place is off the beaten path, but really close to SB. It's well worth the price. A beautiful property if I lived in the area i would be a member, so i could self-tour.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow!! Who knew this existed???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My friend had wanted to go here for 10 years. She is an eccentric. I had no idea what to expect except that some old rich lady planted these wierd gardens. NEVER did I expect such exquisite beauty. I was blown away. We had a private tour and it lasted for almost three hours. This should be on everyone's bucket list!!! You have never seen so many interesting plants, cacti, succulents, bromeliads, ferns, palms, pools, japanese gardens, etc. in one place. It is rated one of the top ten gardens in the country. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE if you go to Santa Barbara!!!! Make reservations for the tour or you won't get in.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Love'n the land of Lotus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Well, if your idea of paradise is touring the gardens of an inspired, theatric and often married eccentric with a passion for aloes, agaves and all things succulent, then here you have reached that fabled place.

Few private gardens on the West coast reach the heights of this period master piece. Lotusland is not only one of the first to approach this foray into the beauty of what was once considered unusual but a true gem.

If you dig your gardens and your California history you'll love this hallowed institution with all it wonderful and quirky ways.

No, it is not really kid friendly- it is a formal garden full of cacti and narrow paths that you need to stay on- so leave them down at the beach.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotusland also viewed

 

Been to Lotusland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotusland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.