We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour Greg says.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy hour Greg says.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A boutique hotel with a RITZ experience. The staff made this visit a memorable one.... Especially Frank ! He was so personable , friendly, knowledgable about the hotel and the area and genuinely seemed to enjoy his job. The room was so unique and yes, as others have commented on, small, but it had everything my wife and I needed to enjoy our one night stay. Found a great wine tasting room with live local talent on the pier a block away. After venturing back to the hotel and once again chatting with Frank, he arranged a table at The hotel restaurant - Blue Tavern and personally introduced us to our waiter Ryan. Ryan's suggestions from the menu were a huge hit- we enjoyed the tuna appetizer , salad and the special flatbread pizza- all were amazing, the best food we had on our trip - We also enjoyed a breakfast the next morning .Don't know the waitress's name but it was busy and she worked like crazy to keep all of her tables happy. The location being next to the train was not at all an issue for us- only heard one train go by and it was actually quite quiet. If we were to offer any suggestions- it would be to improve the quality of the coffee in the restaurant and not so sure if the room Keurig system is really " environmentally friendly."’ Thanks for a wonderful stay. Would highly recommend staying here. Frank - this ones for you! Signed Happy Hour Greg

Room Tip: All of the rooms are small but the character and bed quality far outweighed the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Happy Hour Greg,
Thank you taking the time to leave a comprehensive review of your recent stay at Hotel Indigo. We appreciate your eye for hotel design details and great service feedback; our associates are highly motivated by your comments. We’re glad you enjoyed the best of the Santa Barbara lifestyle by visiting Deep Sea tasting room and delicious Blue Tavern restaurant! It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and hope you decide to visit again. ‘Happy Hour Frank’ thanks you for the wonderful mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    104
    34
    19
    3
See reviews for
36
144
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. This is a boutique hotel and is very modern.
We were meet by a lovely girl who offered us wine, cheese and snacks which was very welcoming.
The room was very small and although I did read on a precious review it was small I didn't imagine it could be that small. There was about 3 1/2 feet between the end of the bed and the wall so when you put your suit case there, you couldn't pass each other. The bathroom was modern and although compact worked well. Lovely hot shower.
This is a dog friendly hotel and although the room was clean it smelt of dog. My pillow smelt of dog too so I am assuming a dog must have slept on it too. It was awful. It is ok for dog lovers but not if you don't like sharing with dogs.
Personally it wasn't for us. It was expensive for the size of the room. There was no pool

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear 481JanD481,
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Indigo. Our staff was happy to give recommendations to tailor your Santa Barbara trip. I was very sorry to read we failed to meet your expectations in the size of the hotel rooms. Being a small boutique hotel in a historic building, our rooms have an original compact room style which was very thoughtfully designed while also reducing our ecological footprint. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced in your room; I have investigated the situation and found the room had not been occupied by a pet for quite some time. I have notified the appropriate department and appreciate you bringing the information to my attention. Thank you again for the positive and negative feedback; you have given us an opportunity for improvement. Please contact me directly at amanda@indigosantabarbara.com if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxvill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife, father, two sisters, and brother in law came to Santa Barbara last year in April to spread my mothers Ashes into the ocean with my family. Dad had met her on the pier some 39 years prior in a restaurant since closed on that very pier. My sister had booked the Indigo after I told her how much I enjoyed the one in Asheville NC. Frank greeted us upon check-in at the front desk with Michael at his side. We were soon settled into our rooms with Michael gladly helping with our bags.
Our room was pretty small with a European type bathroom but my family's other rooms were slightly larger. We all however did not mind this as the rooms were comped at a lower rate due to my sisters business account. Rooms were light, modern, and clean which did help to make our smaller room feel larger. Beds were made everyday and we had a nice, quite comfy sleep both nights. Plenty of space outside on separate patios overlooking beautiful Santa Barbara and the mountains to sit and enjoy conversation p, a drink, or some food.
Hotel features a large gallery with local art throughout the hotel and a very modern, clean and relaxing lounge. The restaurant and bar within the hotel is fantastic! Brunch was out of this world. The Indigo is right next door to the amtrak station where the Surf Liner stops to load passengers north or south. Plenty of great places around the hotel. Check out The Brewhouse located a block behind the hotel if you like great local craft beer. Bropheys by the marina is great for Seafood and is where some locals go for great fresh eats. Downtown is within walking distance but can always hail a cab. The Pier is very close as well.
Frank, Michael, and the rest of the staff at Hotel Indigo were exceptional and went above and beyond to make our stay exquisite. Their recommendations were spot on and they really know their town and what the individual likes.
The day we spread my mothers ashes couldn't have gone any better. We faced the setting sun back through the Harbor and into Santa Barbara with the mountains in the distance, and each of us said what we needed before tossing them into the sea. It was truly a beautiful scene.
Frank, if you come across this review, thank you for helping to make this humble family adventure an unforgettable experience. Good luck to you and your lady :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Justin,
Thank you for sharing your family’s inspiring story during your stay at Hotel Indigo; it’s very nice you were able to return together to enjoy and reflect in the beautiful area your parents met. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and assist during your special visit; your kindness has gone a long way and is appreciated by all our staff, especially Frank and Michael. We take pride in giving you thoughtful recommendations to the places we truly enjoy and love giving guests a ‘local’s’ Santa Barbara experience. All of us at Hotel Indigo have read your wonderful, heartfelt review and thank you again for thinking of us and sharing your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here while celebrating our 3 year anniversary and it was awesome. Ended up spending more on hotel than originally planned, but this hotel was cheaper than comparable options. And it was worth it in the end. GREAT location, great vibe, and incredibly friendly/helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again and will be looking for other Indigo brand hotels when we travel to other cities as well!

Room Tip: The garden patio rooms are very cool, great place for some coffee, etc. in the morning. Hopefully yo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Really appreciated the environmentally sensitive design of the hotel/rooms. This was one of our favorite aspects to our stay.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Judson,
We were so happy to be a part of your special anniversary celebration in Santa Barbara! Thank you for the perfect review and interest in other Hotel Indigos; each property is uniquely designed and located in the hub of great neighborhoods. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

While it was a holiday weekend and so the room was a little pricey, the staff was friendly and attentive and the attached restaurant served some good food. The room is small, so this is not the hotel for someone who wants to just stay on the property. However, it's in walking distance to a ton of restaurants, tasting rooms and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Full disclosure: waited too long to book a hotel in Santa Barbara so our choices were limited... However, I had walked by this property a few times and knew it to be fairly centrally located (close to State Street, Cabrillo Blvd and the beach, and also to the new Funk Zone where the wine tasting rooms and pubs are popping up), somewhat hip looking and very nice. It was indeed a nicely decorated and very clean property and the staff (particularly Calen & Alexis at reception) there were so very friendly. The room that we got, given how late we booked, was a handicap-accessible room, so the shower was literally part of the bathroom, separated only by a curtain and a glass door that swung away from the wall to cover the toilet area, and the room itself was teeny tiny, but it did have a nice attached patio. The room was toward the front of the hotel though so it was located next to the stairs and the backside of the attached restaurant so it could be a little loud at times. The bed was very comfortable and, despite its small size, the room used its space well in terms of its layout.

The Blue Tavern restaurant was delightful. I only ate breakfast there, but I did so on all three mornings because the waitstaff was so friendly and the food so tasty. The breakfast menu is somewhat limited but it has all that you need for a good breakfast. The fruit were delicious, the coffee was good and the omelets were excellent.

A word (or two) of caution: this is a busy area with lots of restaurants and bars nearby; there also are railroad tracks that run almost literally next to the hotel, so you WILL routinely hear the train's whistle / horn blowing. The Amtrak station is next door. Despite all of my warnings, if you are alone or a couple, you really should consider this property if you don't need a large footprint in your room. I'm not sure I would recommend bringing kids here, except that it is close to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel on the south (beach) side are sunnier and quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel provides recycle bins in each room to encourage environmentally-conscious travelers to recycle.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Deat Matthew,
Thank you for the review of Hotel Indigo’s prime location, friendly staff, tasty restaurant, and compact designed rooms. We enjoyed reading your detailed feedback and appreciate the information you’ve left for future guests as well. Please give us a call before your next visit to Santa Barbara, we would be happy to assign a quiet room and welcome you as our return guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had dinner here on the off chance, as all was busy for the weekend. What a joy we ate from the happy hour menu steak, prawns and cant remember the rest. The food was prepared and cooked well ,up there with the best and I have eaten in the very best over the years of travelling.
Very well executed plates of food for the palate and wine to boot. Really cant stand Californian wine but they serve a good house wine. The servers were exremely attentive, ours was Arvin I think compared to down the road at Toma who are budding sreen stars .Good hosting would definately recommend. you lost one star for the loud music but hey Im getting old.!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear hallij,
Thank you for the wonderdul comments on the unique flavors of Blue Tavern’s Cali-Peruvian cuisine; we are very lucky to have one of Chef Zarate’s amazing restaurants right here in Santa Barbara at Hotel Indigo! Arvin is a great asset to the restaurant and was pleased to be mentioned. We hope to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, and MCASB Satellite art gallery. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara’s hottest new address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.