We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Springs, CA.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our two day stay here. The room was very small, but very nice. We had a small private patio. There is a small fitness room and free coffee is the morning. They have ear plugs in the room, but we asked about the Amtrak and they said the train usually came around 630 in the morning, which is seemed to. But it was ok, just a few beeps from the horn then the noise is gone. It really is nothing for reviewers to be complaining about. This is a cool hip hotel and I would recommend to stay here. You can walk to the wharf, restaurants, everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Roman,

Thank you for your review on our 'cool and hip' hotel near the Amtrak! We're glad you enjoyed your garden patio room and easy access to local attractions; we hope to see you again in Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    103
    34
    19
    3
See reviews for
35
143
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

While booking they failed to mention that the hotel was on an Amtrak railway line which makes it very noisy. The reception area and amenities are good, rooms are tiny and beds of poor quality. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback about your stay at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara. We strive to provide as much information regarding the Amtrak location and room style prior to guest booking and arrival; it is unfortunate this was not conveyed to you ahead of time and the proper department shall be notified. We apologize you were unsatisfied with the bed; please do not hesitate in contacting our front desk associates when anything is not working correctely in the room as we would gladly send our maitenance engineer to fix the problem immediately. Thank you again, we greatly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Sept 2012 as part of our California Road Trip. It was a perfect stop off point, en route to San Diego.
The rooms/bathroom are small and modern but ideal for a stop over/few days whilst visiting Santa Barbara. There is adequate parking and the service is excellent.
The location of the hotel is also good, walking distance to both the beach and the shopping.
I would recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in Santa Barbara for a few days, any longer and you may want a bigger hotel with more facilities, that said I have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Stephield82,

Thank you for the great review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara and for staying with us during our exciting first year open! We're happy to be a part of your fabulous California road trip and that we were able to provide memorable service, modern rooms, and a great location. Please keep us in mind on your next visit, we'de love to show you the remodels to our restaurant and neighborhood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved this hotel - in a great location close to the beach and on the main street, with car parking right next door (for a small charge). Staff were courteous and friendly. Although the room was small it was full of character, and having two gorgeous outside spaces on our corridor was great. Décor is colourful and upbeat and the art work around the hotel gives it a great atmosphere. A fridge in the room would be a good addition although it'd be challenging in such a small space.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about our Hotel Indigo and prime location! We are so happy to hear your feedback on the ongoing art exhibit and the character of our rooms/outdoor spaces; it is part of what makes this a unique property in Santa Barbara. We also thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

it's these small, well-thought out and planned hotels that really make my day. everything you need - nothing more, nothing less in a very nice, welcoming environment. location is perfect, beds comfy and the little private balcony that helps you forget about the loud trains and thin walls... btw they provide earplugs. absolutely my place to stay each and every time in SB.

Room Tip: we found out when checking out that there is another side of the hotel that doesn't get the full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sy2012,

Thank you for the great review! We're pleased to see your appreciation for well-thought out and planned spaces and are happy we were a good fit for your travel style. Please give us a call before your next visit with any room requests, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice and it was perfect on both occasions. We have recommended it to friends and they loved it as well...

The location is great with the beach on one side and the busy shopping street on the other. You can forget your car for your stay which is parked at no charge next door!

The rooms are small but very well equipped

It is not that suitable for children as the hotel is a city hotel with no grounds and no pool.

Room Tip: If you want the quietest possible room ask for a room at the rear of the hotel on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Epoc O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback! We're happy you enjoyed our great location and exploring Santa Barbara by foot; we now have complimentary beach cruisers for you to use while checking out our changing neighborhood. We greatly appreciate you recommonding our hotel to your friends and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My recent stay at Hotel Indigo was a TEN out of TEN. If you're looking for a hotel in downtown Santa Barbara, no need to look any further. Off the cuff, the top reasons why I love this hotel are as follows: impeccable interiors, superb customer service, unbeatable location, free wifi (throughout the entire facility) and delicious food and drinks, next door, at Anchor Wood Fire Kitchen.

Frank, from the front desk, has customer service skills that are unsurpassed. He can recommend the best of everything to you, provide you with whatever you may need and make you feel at home by calling you by your name each and every time you step foot in the lobby. Corey, from Anchor Wood Fire Kitchen, is the most knowledgable server I have ever met and is passionate about the food and drink he serves. His recommendations are delicious and his service unforgettable.

I stayed for three nights and had the opportunity to stay on both the 1st and 2nd Floor(s). Both Floors were amazing; I loved the sunsets from the West side (2nd Floor) and the morning sunlight from the East side (1st Floor) and stunning landscape on the private patio. Both the bedroom and bathroom were clean, bright, modern with chic decor. The details were organic, fresh and made of high quality and I really liked the shower and the overall design of the space.

You will not find a better hotel in downtown Santa Barbara. If you're thinking about staying here, make your reservation.

Room Tip: I loved both the East/West sides of the hotel in addition to the 1st & 2nd Floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a posive and comprehensive review! You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments on the service of our front desk/concierge Frank, and Corey from Anchor. We're proud to surpass expectations and are very happy to be such as great fit for your vacation. We're glad to see you enjoyed the gorgeous Santa Barbara sunrise and sunsets from both room types.Thanks again for the 'Ten out of Ten' review, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, and MCASB Satellite art gallery. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara’s hottest new address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.