We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Corona, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfy beds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Okay so the rooms are a bit small, but they are so cool! The exposed brick wall kept it cool enough, but we still ran the air. The bathroom is very modern, and the beds are so very comfortable. We shared a two bed room with our daughters and it was a bit cramped, but we were rarely in the room at the same time other than to sleep, so it worked. It does not include breakfast, but there is vending area with a decent selection and a couple coffee shops less than a block away if you need a bagel. The hotel does have complimentary coffee in rooms, but the lobby coffee has half/half and sugar in the raw, good-bye powdered creamer. They were also nice enough to make up some decaf. Oh, there is also a outdoor sitting area on the second floor that was very cool. Very comfortable walking distance to "the strip" and the beach/peir. It would have been perfect if there were a hot tub, but still if we travel to Santa Barbara again, we will definitely book with Hotel Indigo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Chrisy,

Thank you for the wonderful review, it made our day! It was great to have you and your family as our guests; we're glad you enjoyed the unique and cozy touches of the modern rooms and common areas. Also, thank you for describing the convenient location of the hotel, we love how easy it is for our guests to explore Santa Barbara from our front door! We appreciate your response and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    115
    37
    20
    4
See reviews for
37
157
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had initially looked at staying here, but decided not to based upon reviews that mentioned small rooms, which we were leery of for a nearly week-long stay. Mistake.

We checked into a '4 Star' national brand hotel which was hugely disappointing. On the walk to dinner, we stopped at the Indigo to just check it out. It is tres moderne and spotless. The staff, especially manager Frank, was eager to please and we quickly arranged to switch hotels. We saved about half on our weekday rate.

The rooms here are comically small.as in just a few feet of room around the bed. If you've traveled in Europe, you'll be fine. If you are traveling with children, don't stay here. Please. Go to the mass market hotels with pools and accommodations for kids. If you rarely leave your McMansion that includes the upgraded spiral staircase and Wow Factor great room, don't stay here.

If you're in Santa Barbara to enjoy the relaxed vibe, cool weather and outdoor activities, this is a fantastic place to stay. Easy parking, ideal location for walking State Street, morning coffee and evening wine in the lobby. We have been recommending Hotel Indigo enthusiastically ever since.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. You'll get a small, private outdoor area. Leave the door to it open and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Jeffrey,

Thank you for the amazing, and comical review! We're happy you stopped by, and even happier we were a great fit for your travel style. Come back to visit us anytime; we're sure you'll enjoy our brand new beach cruisers and outdoor seating at the restaurant. Frank says 'hello' and thanks for the shoutout!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice, hip, modern hotel.
Spotlessly clean, nice rooms a bit on a smaller side but definitely very comfortable.
The restaurant is a bit on a expensive side but the food was very good. Excellent location.
The staff was very professional and genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a boutique hotel, recently remodeled. Rooms are small and unique, especially the bathrooms. However, it is located a block from the beach and the remodel was completed very nicely. Very European. Staff is great, wine when you check in and they are very gracious. There is a restaurant attached that is quite good too. Park your car and you are a block away from the beach and a block away from tons of great food and shopping

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Vicki,

Thank you for the review on our unique hotel and staff! We're happy you enjoyed the best of Santa Barbara's local wines, dining, and car-free attractions convenient to our location. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azusa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Since we did not have anything planned for my birthday, my husband and me decided to take the Amtrak to Santa Barbara. We booked a night at the Indigo Hotel, just a stone's throw away from the station. The accommodation was cute but small. The shower stall converts to part of the floor space in the bathroom. Expect the floor outside of the shower area to be wet. On the plus side were the provided Aveeno toiletries. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, going above and beyond the call of duty. They gladly stored our luggage so we could do some last minute shopping and early dinner before taking the last train to LA. I highly recommend this cute, upscale boutique hotel and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Myrna,

We're glad your spontanious birthday trip to Santa Barbara was a success and you enjoyed traveling by train! Our staff will be happy to make even more recommendations in our changing neightborhood on your next visit. Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here twice in June - such a GREAT experience. Right by the beach, clean, amazing restaurant attached to it and one of the best parts, the staff was UNBEATABLE. They took really great care of us, knew our names, and really showed that they wanted us to have the best experience possible while staying at their hotel. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay there on a future trip to Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Danielle,

Thank you for the great review; it was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We're happy you enjoyed the hotel location and dining at Anchor restaurant. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I LOVE this hotel. Was a little skeptical at first as the rooms are rather small, but the décor is so artful and the place is very clean. The outdoor patio is a sun trap in the afternoon and very spacious, a nice area to sit, drink wine and just relax after a long day. I had many birds there including a hummingbird which was very pretty.
Yes the hotel is next to the Amtrak but the train only comes by every couple of hours, it really wasn't a problem at all. The European style bathroom (I'm European and I've never seen one of these before) was interesting, but worked just fine.
The Anchor restaurant next door has some very tasty dishes and great cocktails and they even do room service! The location is spot on - central for everything!
There was nothing I didn't like about this hotel but the one thing that makes it extra special is the staff! They are all so professional, friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. However I do have to give both William and Brandon an extra mention. William helped me with room service when my phone was having issues and Brandon went above and beyond by giving me advice, ideas for where to eat, drink etc. He could not do enough for me and I hope he never leaves this hotel because I will most definitely be back soon!!

Room Tip: I only stayed on the first floor and my room had the additional outdoor patio - highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBMort, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Helene,

Thank you for the glowing review and mention of our wonderful staff members! We're happy to see you enjoyed the common areas of artwork and sunny outdoor patio lounges, and to hear the hotel and Anchor restaurant were such a great fit for your trip. Our fabulous guests are also what makes Hotel Indigo special; we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, and MCASB Satellite art gallery. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara’s hottest new address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.