We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hotel in a nice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute little hotel in a nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Looking for an inexpensive hotel in Santa Barabara? The Hotel Indigo was my best option, and it was a very nice surprise.

The room was very, very small and would have been crowded with even two people, but was fine for just one. It was smaller than I've experienced in Japan or Europe, but similar. There was an outdoor private patio that did not get used and a cleverly designed bathroom that used every possible inch.

The only downside was the train that passed through in the very early morning with horn going full steam. I suppose I should have used the earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us; we are so glad that you liked our hotel. Be sure to call us in advance next time, and we will reserve a room away from the train for you. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    94
    26
    17
    3
See reviews for
32
128
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I didn't read the review until I was there having problems and feeling totally uncomfortable. Rooms are small and the bathroom was a pain to use. To Take a Shower you have to close a glass door near where the toilet is. Using the toilet was another issue, toilet paper was under the sink on the left hand side, and not locked in. The T.P kept sliding out of its location. I hated that. I am right handed and 6'2 reaching was still aquard. I can't imagine a shorter person or someone with back or arm problems to reach. Just be warned that's all. Watching TV was another issues every time I changed the channel it would take several seconds about 4-10 seconds to change. At one point it didn't even change. Ahhhh... I couldn't wait to leave this place. Parking is extra too! When I was leaving another car came up and since it's a small parking lot. I had to wait until the guy unloaded his car for me to exit the parking lot. Noisy too! Thin wall you can hear people even in very morning hours. I can't believe people are not mentioning this. Our room faced the tracks and you can hear the traffic and train. Believe it or not this did not bother me as much as the room itself. Never again will I stay here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if u can. Is not worth it for the money you pay. I can't believe I payed go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems that you encountered during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing excellent accommodations and service, and in this instance we did not deliver. If you would like to talk further about your experience, please call me directly at the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I had read the reviews and wasn't sure what to expect. The location was great - very close to the water and a short walk to the central commercial district. The staff was young and very helpful. We stayed one night, which was fine, but don't know if we would have wanted to stay longer. As the other reviews have mentioned, the room is very small (a factor if you are traveling with a lot of luggage), but everything is new and every inch is well utilized. The bathroom is modern and sleek and an interesting experience as the shower is not enclosed - and it's almost as if the shower and toilet are in one space. You wonder how you can shower without soaking the entire bathroom, but somehow it worked. As we were checking out, we ran into the went who told us that he developed the property a year and a half ago and that it is typical of a European boutique hotel. A few notes - there is no elevator and the stairs to the second floor and the landing smelled like dogs and yes, they do allow dogs, but hopefully since I mentioned this to him, they've taken care of it. Also, the hotel is next to the Amtrak station, but we were told that the last regularly scheduled train comes through at 11:30 PM and that on some nights, freight trains may pass by. The morning train was at 6:30. Along with the Aveda products in the bathroom, there were also 2 sets of ear plugs. Finally, there is only valet parking at a cost of $14/day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will stay longer when you come back. We would love to have you try one of our patio rooms on the ground floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The decor of this place took much thought and an artists point of view. All done in good taste. If you're not already into art this will do it!
Rooms are small but every inch is thoughtfully put to good use. Then you also have the tremendous trio working the front desk, William, Frank and Brandon - it's all about customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
William, Frank, and Brandon really appreciate your recognition of their excellent service. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and knew when we turned up it was going to be a very long one night stay as Hotel is right next to train line and also road works happening around hotel. We woke to road works at 7 in the morning and trains were heard until late at night. The rooms are way to small, we had a room with 2 double beds but they looked more like a king singles. The staff at reception was the only good think about this hotel. Never again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apology for your noisy stay. I am sorry that the construction was a problem. This city is expanding the sidewalks in front of the hotel. It will be nice when it is finished and will provide seating for the restaurant. I am so sorry that it woke you up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here en route from LA to San Francisco and found it to be a great find in Santa Barbara. The hotel is located just two blocks from the beach and is easily accessible to the State Street shops and restaurants.
The hotel reception is clean, bright and modern. The check in was efficient and the rooms easy to find.
THe room was beautiful, we took a room downstairs with an outdoor terrace, which was possibly not worth the extra money as the weather was a little cold and damp when we were there. It was a nice outdoor space though.
The room was spacious enough and the bathroom was compact and functional. I liked the way that the toilet was screened from the shower, it was a good use of space in a small bathroom.
The only downside we found was that there was no drinks fridge in the room as we had a bottle of wine that we wanted to chill.
The room that we were in was on the train line side of the hotel and I would recommend that you request a room on the sea side of the hotel. Although only two trains passed in the night, they were quite noisy. I would not let this put you off staying here though.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the train track side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel. When you come back, be sure to try the new restaurant, Anchor Woodfire Kitchen and Bar, for a "farm to table" experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in Santa Barbara one night in April. We took the Amtrak from San Diego. We wanted to be close to downtown and obviously close to the train station. I contacted the Indigo and Frank assisted us with our reservation. He was very helpful in finding us a room despite the busy spring break and lack of rooms at the hotel. Frank accommodated us, despite their policy of only allowing a minimum two nights (we stayed only one night); though it helped I mentioned I'm a Rewards member (Holiday Inn member).

The hotel is a small boutique facility, two stories and contained a nice restaurant (we did not have time to try it out...it was busy). The lobby was modern and contained a business center and meeting room. Brandon checked us in and asked us if we needed any directions or suggestions for dining. We had completed a bus transit (via Amtrak) from Solvang... so we were tired and wanted to rest in our room. The room is very small but it was comfortable, containing a queen size bed, desk, and small closet. A small outdoor patio was part of our unit (very cozy and private). The quarters are pretty tight, but we did not mind. The bed was a queen, was comfortable and had a down comforter and blanket. The bed is very close to one wall, that it is challenging to get in/out of bed on that side. The television was a flat-screen and the hotel had Direct TV. We slept very well and were not disturbed by any noise, including the nearby Amtrak station and trains.

The only negative is the hotel unit bathroom. The shower is not separated by a glass door or shower curtain to prevent water from draining into the bathroom, which made the restroom very wet during our stay. Let me explain... there is no separate shower stall/bathtub to prevent water from flooding the bathroom. The shower curtain provided, only prevents splashing; while a glass door basically separated the toilet from where you would shower. Meanwhile, a larger opaque glass door separated the room from the bathroom (essentially making the bathroom one large shower). In conclusion, although the drain removed all water, the floors remained wet. You will need most of the towels to dry up the floors. Unless you are a couple or married you probably won't like the lack of privacy in the bathroom either.

Carmen assisted us with our check out and was very considerate, as she offered to hold our bags while we spent all morning walking through downtown, having breakfast, and enjoying the beach boardwalk.

In conclusion, the Indigo is in excellent location, between the 101 and the pier on State Street. The hotel is walking distance to downtown and the Amtrak station. We would definitely stay again, if they can resolve the design of the bathroom in the room.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the difficult room bathroom or small bedroom you will enjoy your visit. Very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, and MCASB Satellite art gallery. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara’s hottest new address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;