We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, small rooms but a cool hotel well worth a visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice location, small rooms but a cool hotel well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've stayed in the various smaller motels in SB and decided to step up a bit for our last trip. The hotel is very nicely fitted out but as others have pointed out, the rooms are small. Don't expect a stunning view either. We had an issue with a loose and leaking showerhead which was quickly fixed.

The beach is 2 mins walk away and if you walk North on State St under the underpass (a little dark but seems perfectly safe to me) then you hit the main drag with all the shops and bars.

The staff recommended some good restaurants including Eureka, a burgers/craft beer place and Los Arroyos, a Mexican just off State on W Figueroa. Santa Barbara Roasting does great coffee and Backyard Bowls next door is well worth a visit. We always head to Sushi Go Go in the harbor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    104
    34
    19
    3
See reviews for
36
144
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I spent a night there right before New Years. The hotel is very new and very clean. The rooms, as mentioned by others, were small. This did not bother us in the least since 1) I expected it, and 2) we didn't really spend much time there. Despite the size, the room had everything you needed....just not a lot of room in the bathroom or a lot of room around the bed. The whole place had a Euro feel to it...kind of hip, small, dog friendly. We used the fitness center...tiny (I think my closet at home is larger), but it had some decent cardio equipment and some hand weights...that's all. The staff was very very nice. The location of this hotel is good. You can walk anywhere along state or to the pier. We would stay there again if the rates were competitive (which is why we booked there in the first place...well, that, and location).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

From entering the hotel lobby you know you've made the right choice on hotel. Recently refurbished, Hotel Indigo has a light Euro feel without going overboard. Didn't realise it at the time but the hotel is an IHG property and you can naturally earn Priority rewards points. Nice bonus even if we are here for one night.

Rooms are cool, bed massive and bathroom is nice. My girlfriend was very happy to see Aveda products too.

The hotel is minutes from SB pier and on the same street as all the restaurants, shops etc...

Only challenging part of staying in central SB is everything is close to the train line. The hotel is smack bang next to the train line. We arrived mid afternoon and even at the back of the hotel every train was blasting its horn. The train station is just around the corner. It isn't a reason to not come here though. It is now 9pm and I've not heard a horn for a few hours.


Brandon at the front desk was one of the most helpful people I've spoken with. Very welcoming and attentive!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay M, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We really appreciate you and your girlfriend staying with us. Be sure to try the new restaurant, Anchor Woodfire Kitchen on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stopped in Santa Barbara on a return trip from San Francisco to San Diego. The Indigo Hotel is Santa Barbara's newest, contemporary hotel right in the heart of Santa Barbara on State Street. Next to Amtrak Station, but fairly quite, as we only heard one train around midnight. Excellent locations to restaurants, shops and galleries on State Street. Easy walking distance to beach and Stearns Wharf.

Our room was a little small, because it did not have a patio area that they plan to add on in the future. The patio areas on the first floor are nice and a quite spot to read. Indigo is in the process of building an on site restaurant. There is a charge for parking like many hotels now, but it was very reasonable at $14 per night and good space availiblity.

We chose the Indigo Hotel, because it is dog friendly and we had a small dog on our Thanksgiving week travels. Staff was friendly and helpful. No vending machines, but a small sundry area, which was nice. We enjoyed the one night stay.

Room Tip: It is our understanding that the rooms on the second floor are a little larger. The second floor al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was totally re-furbished and converted from a hostel in 2/2012, so everything is brand new. It is literally right across the tracks from the Amtrak station, only 2 blocks from the wharf & beach. State Street shopping and restaurants are just a few blocks the other way. So, 5+ stars for location.

The rooms are small, but about the most efficient use of space I've seen. For example, the 5x5 bathroom is all tile, with a drain in the floor. When you sit on the toilet, your feet are actually in the "shower" space, but when you want to take a shower, a cleverly-placed, swinging glass door and shower curtain give you a surprisingly large shower. The bedroom, at roughly 9x11, also crams a lot into a small space. A very comfortable bed dominates the room, and doesn't leave you much walking space, but there's a large-screen TV, a desk, and even a small closet with a safe and 2 drawers. I'd think twice before bringing the whole family for a vacation at the beach for a week (although the 1st floor rooms do have a patio), but for a day or two in Santa Barbara, it's perfect. Especially if you come up from LA on the train.

As other reviews have stated, this 2-story hotel has no elevator, so be advised, if you need one. This, and the small rooms, knock it down to 4 stars overall IMO, but if you don't need the space, and can walk up one flight of stairs, I'd rate it 4 1/2 - 5 stars. Despite the nearby train tracks, we never heard a train all night until about 9-10am.

A friendly staff, wine & cheese hour, a small gym (2 machines), and a small conference room round out the amenities. Overall, a welcome addition to expensive Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor give you a small patio for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A recent 3-day stay at Hotel Indigo was terrific. Newly renovated, it is clean, modern, light, airy, and very comfortable (There's nothing like a new bed and linens). There was a SoHo-art-gallery-meets-EuroStyle feel to the decor with original, contemporary art (some painted directly on the walls) and a living plant wall. Frankly, the well-chosen pieces were so creative and fun that I've become a bigger fan of contemporary art. The hotel's owner shares his library of art books with guests on the honor system and the staff are among the best I've seen. The hotel is steps from the train station, but the old brick walls are so thick that the rooms are very quiet. Trolley stops are close and take you up State Street or along the water. I went with friends, and will be back with my husband. Did I mention complimentary wine at Happy Hour?

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are further from the train station. Ground floor rooms have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location in downtown Santa Barbara close to almost everything. Cute little boutique hotel with modernistic amenities. Amanda, the front desk clerk, couldn't have been more helpful finding us places to visit and great places to eat for our day in Santa Barbara. We were close enough to the water to walk to the Sunday Art Walk. Room was comfortable and clean. My only complaint may be the shower configuration. Half glass half shower curtain equalled very wet floor and bath mat.Good value for downtown SB.

Room Tip: First floor is a good choice. If not, be sure to use luggage elevator as there is no elevator for hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, and MCASB Satellite art gallery. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara’s hottest new address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.