We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
San diego, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Contemporary Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stopped in Santa Barbara on a return trip from San Francisco to San Diego. The Indigo Hotel is Santa Barbara's newest, contemporary hotel right in the heart of Santa Barbara on State Street. Next to Amtrak Station, but fairly quite, as we only heard one train around midnight. Excellent locations to restaurants, shops and galleries on State Street. Easy walking distance to beach and Stearns Wharf.

Our room was a little small, because it did not have a patio area that they plan to add on in the future. The patio areas on the first floor are nice and a quite spot to read. Indigo is in the process of building an on site restaurant. There is a charge for parking like many hotels now, but it was very reasonable at $14 per night and good space availiblity.

We chose the Indigo Hotel, because it is dog friendly and we had a small dog on our Thanksgiving week travels. Staff was friendly and helpful. No vending machines, but a small sundry area, which was nice. We enjoyed the one night stay.

Room Tip: It is our understanding that the rooms on the second floor are a little larger. The second floor al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    123
    42
    24
    4
See reviews for
40
173
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was totally re-furbished and converted from a hostel in 2/2012, so everything is brand new. It is literally right across the tracks from the Amtrak station, only 2 blocks from the wharf & beach. State Street shopping and restaurants are just a few blocks the other way. So, 5+ stars for location.

The rooms are small, but about the most efficient use of space I've seen. For example, the 5x5 bathroom is all tile, with a drain in the floor. When you sit on the toilet, your feet are actually in the "shower" space, but when you want to take a shower, a cleverly-placed, swinging glass door and shower curtain give you a surprisingly large shower. The bedroom, at roughly 9x11, also crams a lot into a small space. A very comfortable bed dominates the room, and doesn't leave you much walking space, but there's a large-screen TV, a desk, and even a small closet with a safe and 2 drawers. I'd think twice before bringing the whole family for a vacation at the beach for a week (although the 1st floor rooms do have a patio), but for a day or two in Santa Barbara, it's perfect. Especially if you come up from LA on the train.

As other reviews have stated, this 2-story hotel has no elevator, so be advised, if you need one. This, and the small rooms, knock it down to 4 stars overall IMO, but if you don't need the space, and can walk up one flight of stairs, I'd rate it 4 1/2 - 5 stars. Despite the nearby train tracks, we never heard a train all night until about 9-10am.

A friendly staff, wine & cheese hour, a small gym (2 machines), and a small conference room round out the amenities. Overall, a welcome addition to expensive Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor give you a small patio for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A recent 3-day stay at Hotel Indigo was terrific. Newly renovated, it is clean, modern, light, airy, and very comfortable (There's nothing like a new bed and linens). There was a SoHo-art-gallery-meets-EuroStyle feel to the decor with original, contemporary art (some painted directly on the walls) and a living plant wall. Frankly, the well-chosen pieces were so creative and fun that I've become a bigger fan of contemporary art. The hotel's owner shares his library of art books with guests on the honor system and the staff are among the best I've seen. The hotel is steps from the train station, but the old brick walls are so thick that the rooms are very quiet. Trolley stops are close and take you up State Street or along the water. I went with friends, and will be back with my husband. Did I mention complimentary wine at Happy Hour?

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are further from the train station. Ground floor rooms have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location in downtown Santa Barbara close to almost everything. Cute little boutique hotel with modernistic amenities. Amanda, the front desk clerk, couldn't have been more helpful finding us places to visit and great places to eat for our day in Santa Barbara. We were close enough to the water to walk to the Sunday Art Walk. Room was comfortable and clean. My only complaint may be the shower configuration. Half glass half shower curtain equalled very wet floor and bath mat.Good value for downtown SB.

Room Tip: First floor is a good choice. If not, be sure to use luggage elevator as there is no elevator for hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location and the staff were very friendly. The lobby was clean and the hotel had a cute reading area on the second floor. The gym and the business room were small but sufficient. My room was shockingly small and that was the only negative. The bathroom was pretty funny... not only was it tiny, but there was a glass door that you had to move in front of the toilet to separate the area to make a shower. There was also a small shower curtain and you had to pull the shower head down each time you went through this whole procedure to make the shower area! It's a bit difficult to explain, but think Ikea and small Euro apartment. Free wi-fi was good, no breakfast or snacks. Try to not get a room on the side close to the train station, unless you like being woken up mulitple times in the middle of the night. Took my dog with me and that worked well.

Room Tip: Try to not get a room on the side close to the train station, unless you like being woken up mulitpl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is true what other reviewers have said; close to train tracks, small rooms and no elevator but I like this place. The staff was very nice at all times. The location is great, you can walk to the beach or up State Street to stores and restaurants. It is very artsy. There is a restaurant being built right in the building which will be very nice.

Room Tip: There are two outdoor patios on the second floor with TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I traveled here with four friends on a girls trip. We traveled from San Diego by train. The hotel is within easy walking distance. The place is spotlessly clean. Decorated very artfully. And the beds are very comfortable. The staff we interjected with we're top notch. Robert , Brandon,Frank,Carmen,Daniel and Johathan. We're extremely helpful. They assisted us with all our needs including great guides to the sites in town. There is a free happy hour each evening from 5 to 7 pm. The local wine they serve is deliciouse. I would gladly tecond this hotel. To anyone

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Santa Barbara
Hyatt Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara

Address: 121 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara blends historic splendor with sophisticated design and offers eco friendly, artful lodging steps from the Funk Zone, Stearns Wharf, and Urban Wine Trail. Contemporary art, colorful murals, and a plant-filled living wall grace this 41-room boutique hotel. Guest rooms feature spa-inspired showers with Aveda products and the smaller footprint characteristic of environmentally friendly lodging. Select rooms have private outdoor gardens and mountain views. Facilities include a business center, fitness room, boardroom, Nuance Restaurant, and MCASB Satellite art gallery. Stay in the heart of art at Santa Barbara's hottest new address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.