We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cafe Americano and Eggsellent Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Angelo Bakery

D'Angelo Bakery
25 W Gutierrez St, Santa Barbara, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Cafe Americano and Eggsellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Every time I visit Santa Barbara I stop by D'Angelo Bakery for their amazing Cafe Americanos. I also try to find a way to rationalize splurging on their wonderful breakfast. Today it was eggs Florentine: sourdough toast, topped sauteed spinach, perfectly poached eggs, and made-from-scratch hollandaise sauce. It took a lot of willpower to stop me from stealing a bite of my friend's bacon, egg, and cheddar on a fresh croissant. You won't lose weight here but you will die with a smile on your face.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bakery and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

While this restaurant specializes in poached eggs and baked goods, the menu is limited and pricey. Eggs looked delicious, but we had French toast and buckwheat waffle. French toast was only coated with egg mixture, so it was dry in the middle. Waffle was quite tasty; don't be afraid of trying buckwheat if you have never had it. Good coffee. Limited seating, but wasn't busy about 9 am.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I ordered more bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm trying to cut back on my bread consumption. I ordered sourdough with my incredibly delicious omelette. For the first time in my life- I asked for a side of toast! It was that good. Ya, its small and busy. Get over it! This was one of the finest breakfasts I've ever had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love places where you can see the procces of making the bread. Many options to choose from and of course is great to choose the one for your sandwich. Nice coffee and service. The only strange thing to me is that they don't have Mustard and salsa for your omelette. It's not on the main street but very close to the action¡¡¡

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great omolet in a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I think this is one of The best places to have breakfast in SB, it's very close to the center, the prices are pretty much the same as in The other places and they made their own brad, which is very good. I eat a omolet, a toast and a croissant, nothing special for an european (like me), but The omolet was really good... The cheese they use is really good and The ingredients (like The mushrooms) were really fresh! I just love it and I recomend it! Choose the omelet "make it on your way" (something like that!). They add some breed on it and you can add more if you want (batatoes..)

Good:
- brad home made
- location/ you can eat outside
- price/quality
- the service was very good (staff care about you)
- environment (it's not really a tourist place)

Bad:
- it's no suprisely if you are an european (even id the capuccino is good, if you considering that you're in América) if you just wask for bread, but still, IT'S NOT BAD!
-If you go on Sunday you'll have to wait...
- still, A LITTLE EXPENSIVE! 14$ for an omolet!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Angelo Bakery also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to D'Angelo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Angelo Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.