We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I ordered more bread” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Angelo Bakery

D'Angelo Bakery
25 W Gutierrez St, Santa Barbara, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I ordered more bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm trying to cut back on my bread consumption. I ordered sourdough with my incredibly delicious omelette. For the first time in my life- I asked for a side of toast! It was that good. Ya, its small and busy. Get over it! This was one of the finest breakfasts I've ever had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
México
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love places where you can see the procces of making the bread. Many options to choose from and of course is great to choose the one for your sandwich. Nice coffee and service. The only strange thing to me is that they don't have Mustard and salsa for your omelette. It's not on the main street but very close to the action¡¡¡

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Great omolet in a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I think this is one of The best places to have breakfast in SB, it's very close to the center, the prices are pretty much the same as in The other places and they made their own brad, which is very good. I eat a omolet, a toast and a croissant, nothing special for an european (like me), but The omolet was really good... The cheese they use is really good and The ingredients (like The mushrooms) were really fresh! I just love it and I recomend it! Choose the omelet "make it on your way" (something like that!). They add some breed on it and you can add more if you want (batatoes..)

Good:
- brad home made
- location/ you can eat outside
- price/quality
- the service was very good (staff care about you)
- environment (it's not really a tourist place)

Bad:
- it's no suprisely if you are an european (even id the capuccino is good, if you considering that you're in América) if you just wask for bread, but still, IT'S NOT BAD!
-If you go on Sunday you'll have to wait...
- still, A LITTLE EXPENSIVE! 14$ for an omolet!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow, What A Breakfast to Rembember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Slighty on the pricey side this was really good food that I will remember for a long time. Big portions of really good top rate food with indoor or outdoor seating but it is limited. Be early to get a seat. 1 Block off the beach really nice place to take someone special for breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Saving the tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

If I were to visit a foreign country and read somewhere that this place or that was the best whatever I would hope that someone would write a review like this one. This restaurant isn't bad necessarily but it isn't a good representation of what a person should or could get for the price in Santa Barbara. As a bakery I would recommend the breads and pastries and even a tea or coffee as a snack. Great for a quick bite. For breakfast I could recommend five local breakfast or lunch shops off the top of my head that are twice as good and half the price.
I don't have anything against this place I just think its overpriced for mediocre food. Will I go there again...probably for some toast and tea. Would I recommend it to my visiting guests...no I will not. Unless they've seen and eaten everything Santa Barbara has to offer.
Our server was fine the service was fine the food was fine I just think there is so much more in Santa Barbara I'm sorry I bought breakfast here again. Sorry D'Angelo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Angelo Bakery also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to D'Angelo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Angelo Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.