We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to grab lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D'Angelo Bakery

D'Angelo Bakery
25 W Gutierrez St, Santa Barbara, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 438 restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to grab lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The sandwiches were delicious and the restaurant had a really pleasant atmosphere. Breads are freshly baked and there was a great range to chose from. Staff were really helpful and gave top tips about where to visit during our stay.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    27
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Seaside Apathy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Went twice for breakfast during recent SB trip. The first time was average to poor. The second time was 'terrible'. Looks quaint and alluring. Just what you'd want from breakfast in SB. Looks seemingly clean. Off State Street. Fresh morning air and coffee and decent looking menu. A friend had been gone several years ago and loved the buckweat pancakes. Thought we go again. STOP!!!!Awful. Undercooked. Apathetic wait staff. Had to send back simple order 3 times before abandoning entree altogether. Perhaps caught them between chefs or something? Bad experience. Won't waste time to head to 'Lower State Street' again for this disaster.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
031397
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The almond and chocolate croissants are wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts and great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I love breakfast at D'Angelo- not only is the fresh bread unbelieveable, but so are the breakfasts they serve. The espresso based drinks (cappucino, etc) are wonderful, too!! Such a great locals place to enjoy a casual breakfast.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“fullfilled to the full extent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

What a wonderful place. Heard about it on the cooking channel. I felt like I had been transcended to some sidewalk european cafe. My sons munched on the pretzel rolls while I devoured the key lime tarte. And to think they (my sons) almost talked me into going to Sambos! I meandered at the front trying to decide if I should should take home a "one of each" from the fresh bread selection or try to stick with a budget. Nahhhh, this place was special and I wanted to take home my findings! When I left, I had my hands full of several rolls of bread and two boxes of fresh desserts. The cherry tart never made it home nor did the extra pretzel rolls. We had a baguette sliced up with dinner, french toast from another loaf the next morning, fresh bread sandwiches for lunch and I made croutons with leftovers a night later. I went here again a few months later and sat down to eat lunch with my same crew. Again, fullfilled and left very happy! I told the owner so too. I think I ate my lunch and polished off all three of my son's plates. Environment is light and bright. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'Angelo Bakery also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to D'Angelo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Angelo Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.